A Gift Fit For a King: Frankincense

A second gift of the magi to the Savior was frankincense. Used in worship, it was placed by the priest upon the altar to offer up a sweet-smelling savor to God.

The wise men gave this to Jesus as a way of foreshadowing the work of the high priest that He would one day do. He has truly become our “great high priest that is passed into the heavens”.

We cannot give Him the gift of frankincense, physically. We can, though, as a kingdom of priests continually offer up our worship to Him. As we love Him with all that we are, we give to Him a spiritual gift of frankincense.

As we bow before the King this Christmas season, may our worship not be a seasonal gift, but may it be the pledge of our unwavering devotion to Him. May our very life become an altar of incense unto the Lord.

I cannot help but believe that as Christ inhales the savor of our worship, that it brings a warm smile to His face.

14 responses to “A Gift Fit For a King: Frankincense

  1. Once again, great thoughts, Gordon.

    2 Cor. 2:15
    For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

    It’s good to know the Lord likes how we smell. šŸ˜‰

    Personally, many times I look at myself and think, “Man! You stink at this “Christianity” stuff.” But God has a different sense of smell that I do, and I like that! It automatically takes me out of the self-abasement mentality I can get caught up in.

    I also think it ironic that Jesus was, himself, a fragrant offering to God.

    and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. (Ephes. 5:2)

  2. errrr…that should be “different sense of smell THAN I do.”

  3. Good message [ belive I heard the whole message at Sunday service ] but Personally I could hear it again and as I said in my comment in the last post , that the LORD blesses me every day and all year long its Christmas for me ? I also believe that when we praise HIM and try to do his will in our every day lives all week and not just on Sunday that HE does have a warm smile on his face! Blessings ! RON.

  4. That’s what I want my life to be, a sweet smelling sacrifice to Him.

  5. Thanks for the devotional character of these posts. They help me to worship.

  6. Hey, rbj,
    I assume you are part of the congregation where Gordon preaches?

    Hmmm…ya know, up here in New England when we hear the term “Baptist Preacher” we have these images of a man speaking with loud passion and fire in his eyes and heart instantly fill our minds.

    What say you? Does Gordon fit our (mis?)conception? heh-heh.

  7. DK. I have known him for some time and I have been a member of Pine Park Baptist about 47 years! It depends on how you define [ loud ] in loud passion? He always delivers his message as a Baptist Preacher trying his best to show his knowledge of his LORD AND SAVIOR and speaking with that same love of Jesus if HE were speaking to us! I have never seen fire in his eyes and heart but a lot of love and concern for the brothers and sisters in our church ! After all Bro. Gordon had a good teacher when he was growing up and Bro. Cameron is showing that love also cause I had the priveledge of hearing Him preach a couple of weeks ago. Now Bro. Ken Cloud [ Gordon and Cameron’s Dad ] is a good Preacher to but He speaks with a little more loud passion than they do but with the same love for his LORD AND SAVIOR ! I hope I have been a help to your conception ? You see I only got a high school diploma but I graduated several times from the school of hard knocks ! I heard about JESUS in my early years from the Baptist Preachers that spoke with Loud Passion and Fire in their hearts and personally I think that is the reason it stuck with me all these years. There were 3 of these dedicated Baptist Preachers in my family! Maybe if you had, had the opportunity to live down south where we do it might have enhanced your conceptions ? If I can be any more help I’m available 24/7 ? LOL to all the brothers in the New England states! RON.

  8. DK. Just keep in mind so you want have another mis- conception I am not placing the Cloud Pastors on the same level of GOD or JESUS but that they are dedicated desciples of God’s word! I didn’t want you to get confused? Blessings to you and yours! RON.

  9. This was very insightful!

  10. Thanks for all the comments, guys. I have been away from the computer all day so I am just now catching up.

    We have some good insights that have been shared here. I appreciate all who have expressed their thoughts.

    DK, as far as my preaching goes, I can only quote the words of that great theologian, Popeye, “I yam what I yam!” šŸ™‚

    Bro. Ron you are being very kind.

  11. Great stuff, no fluff here! šŸ™‚

  12. Bro. Gordon I was just in a kind mood today , don’t need any thanks ! The song [ you got to stand for something or you will fall for anything ] and I thought I might help our friend, DK , clear up his mis-conceptions in his mind and not fall for anything. I hope his mis-conception of me ain’t all that bad? I’m wondering if the word New Englanders and Yankee is the same word spelled two different ways ? I’m just trying to send some of GODS good southern love up north! Blessings to all . RON.

  13. You’ve done a fine job of clearing up my misconceptions, Ron. Thanks.

    “Iā€™m wondering if the word New Englanders and Yankee is the same word spelled two different ways ?”

    Just so long as you don’t put “NY” in front of Yankee you’ll not offend any New Englanders.
    We be Boston fans up here! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

