A Gift Fit For A King: Myrrh

The third gift brought by the wise men to Jesus was myrrh. This was an ointment that was used in preparing a body for burial. This gift obviously was a gift that foreshadowed the sacrificial death of Christ.

 Just before He died, another person brought a gift that anointed Jesus for His burial. One of His devoted followers broke an alabaster box containing an ointment an poured it upon Him. This was pleasing to Jesus.

While we can honor Christ with our possessions (gold) and our worship (frankincense), there is no need for us to anoint Him for His burial. He will never be crucified again, never die again.

How then can we honor the death of our Lord?

We can show our thanks for His sacrifice by living a life that demonstrates the transformation of the resurrection in us. Those who are in Christ have passed from death unto life. When we live in such a way as to reflect that life, it exalts the love seen in His death, the power seen in His resurrection, and the glory seen in His ascension.

In the words of Frances Havergal:

Take my life and let it be,

consecrated, Lord, for thee.

Take my moments and my days,

let them flow in ceaseless praise.

Let them flow in ceaseless praise.

Merry Christmas, Lord. All that I have, all that I am, all of my worship belongs to you.

10 responses to “A Gift Fit For A King: Myrrh

  1. Gordon,

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I hope that we can engage more in conversation. I would like to get a greater understanding of your perspective of dispensationalism. Have a blessed Christmas!

  2. Truer words were never spoken!

    Merry Christmas, my friend!

  3. Amen to these words Bro. Gordon ! Its words that I try to apply to me and believe it or not they help me to maintain my good behavoir! Blessings. RON.

  4. Thanks everyone for your visits and holiday wishes.

  5. A very thoughtful post, Gordon. Thanks.

  6. At the risk of sounding stupid: although I knew what it was used for, I never really stopped to think about how this gift foreshadowed His sacrificial death on our behalf. Wow. That’s great.

  7. Wonderful post, Gordon. Always a blessing when I come here. May your Christmas be filled with the wonder and majesty of His birth and resurrection power. The more I think about it, the more I’m overcome with joy.

    Warmest Christmas greetings,
    V.

  8. Thanks, Beverly. I hope you have a Merry Christmas.

    Don’t feel bad, Bobby. It took me a while to pick up on that, too.

    Thanks for the kind words, Vicki. I feel the same about your blog.

Leave a comment