Weekend Survey

Let’s get to know each other a little better, shall we? If those who visit this blog over the weekend would be so kind, please leave your answers to the following three questions:

1. What are you currently reading?

2. What music is in your CD player?

3. What is the last movie you watched?

My answers are:

1. Classical Evangelical Hermeneutics by Mal Couch (Sounds exciting doesn’t it?)

2. Philips, Craig and Dean (I love their harmony)

3. King Kong (I was kind of disappointed)

29 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. I stopped by to thank you for visiting my blog and decided to be a good sport and answer the questions….

    1. Keep a Quiet Heart by Elisabeth Elliott

    2. Phillips Craig and Dean…

    3. Batman

    Have a blessed weekend
    Donna

  2. Forgiving Solomon Long by Chris Well

    “The Light of That City by Allan Asbury (I’m going to sing it as a solo next Sunday)

    Four Brothers

  3. 1. The Quran, A Million Little Pieces

    2. I have an MP3 player. It is loaded with, The Message Paraphrase (New Testament), The Suprising Work of God by Jonathan Edwards, and Phil Hoskins preaching The Heavenly Porter from a revival here in town.

    For music I have Elvis Costello’s My Flame Burns Blue which is a live album with the legendary Metropole Orkest, a 52-piece jazz orchestra from the Netherlands, recorded in concert at The Hague.

    The Showdown – A Chorus of Obliteration, P.O.D.’s new album – Testify, Flyleaf – self titled, and Chimaira – self titled.

    3. Last night, Chicken Little, Saw 2

  4. 1. Bible – I am rereading the book of John right now.
    2. Casting Crowns
    3. Radio

  5. 1. Captured by Grace by David Jeremiah

    2. NEW JOY

    3. The Visitation

    have a very safe and great weekend πŸ™‚

  6. Gordon,
    1. “Brothers, We Are Not Professionals” by John Piper for the second time.
    2. I do not have a CD player, but the last tape I had in my tape deck in the car was by Michael Card.
    3. “Kingdom of Heaven”

  7. 1. The Hours
    I quit in the middle of it just recently. I don’t recommend it.

    2. The Best of Ray Charles

    3. Ray

  8. 1) Heavenly Heartburn

    2) Isn’t He (John Wimber)

    3) The African Queen – one of the best movies I have ever seen … can’t believe I have procrastinated viewing for so many years.

  9. 1. Paul in Fresh Perspective by Tom Wright and Renovation of the Heart by Dallas Willard.

    2. The Beatles White Album

    3. Glory Road

  10. 1. Heaven by Randy Alcorn.

    2. Various Artist CD

    3. Dreamer

  11. 1.I read three books at once.
    One for home (quiet Time)
    One before bed
    One during commute

    The curious incident of the dog in the night-time by Mark Haddon

    A fine balance-Rohinton Mistry

    The Bible as History- Werner Keller

    2. Casting Crowns- Lifesong

    3. Open Water

  12. Thanks for commenting on my blog. Here are my answers:

    1. A couple different books: The Jesus I Never Knew (Philip Yancey) and Simple Living (Frank Levering and Wanda Urbanska)

    2. Shane and Shane’s live CD (can’t remember what it’s called). Glad to hear you like PCD’s harmony. Get their recent live DVD and you’ll see me playing keys on it!

    3. Curious George (please don’t ask!!! hehe)

    Be blessed.
    steve πŸ™‚

  13. Gordon,

    Good questions, here are my answers…

    1. Heaven by Randy Alcorn and The Doctrines of Grace by James Boice and Phil Ryken

    2. Derek Webb, “She Must And Shall Go Free”

    3. Walk The Line

  14. 1. Unceasing Worship, Harold M. Best; How to Write What You Want and Sell What You Write, Skip Press; From the Library of C.S. Lewis, James Stuart Bell

    2. Listening to: Ripen, Shawn McDonald; The World as Best As I Can Remember It Vol. 1 & 2, Rich Mullins; Flying Into Daybreak, Charlie Hall

    3. Either Jane Austen’s Persuasion, or her Northanger Abbey (watched them back to back and they are running together in my head)

  15. 1) I am currently reading:
    Ulysses, James Joyce
    Modernism M.Bradbury & J.McFarlane
    Inventing Ireland Declan Kiberd
    The Odyssey Homer
    James Joyce Studies Jean Michel Rabate
    Joyce’s Critics Joseph Brooker
    Can you tell I have an essay due?
    For fun I am reading: Paradise Lost & Paradise Regained Milton

    2)In my CD play is:
    Electric Light Orchestra
    Chopin
    The French Classic Rendez-vous

    In my MP3 is:
    U2
    Miles Davis
    Herbie Hancock
    Jimmy Smith
    more ELO
    Decoder Ring

    3)The last movie I saw was:
    The Chronicles of Narnia in an open air cinema under the stars with my little boys.

  16. I feel like a pagan compared to everyone else, but here goes:

    1. Neon Rain by James Lee Burke

    2. The Best of Sam Cooke

    3. Fun With Dick and Jane

  17. 1. ransomed heart by john eldredge

    2. a mix of songs by joy williams, avalon, shania twain, rebecca st. james, audo a, jake, phillips, craig, & dean – yep, it’s a mix of my favorites!

    3. i watched about a fourth of left behind 3: world at war

  18. Hi Gordon-

    1. “War of The Worldviews”, Ed. Ken Ham

    2. P.O.D. – Satellite and The Fundamental Elements of Southtown (great music to tidy the garage by…yes, I know I’m 40)

    3. The Princess Bride – great trivia question…what movie starred Andre the Giant and Fred Savage?

  19. 1) Screenplay by Syd Field
    2) 70s rock ballads
    3) Memoirs of a Geisha

  20. 1. “American Sphinx: The character of Thomas Jefferson,” by Joseph Ellis

    2. Lifehouse’s newest CD (I don’t remember the name of it)

    3. Cinderella Man

  21. Thanks everybody, for your participation. It is amazing to see the various tastes that we all enjoy.

    We will definitely have to do something like this again.

    Hope everyone has a blessed week.

  22. 1. Absolutely Free by Zane Hodges (duck!)

    2. The Beatles Anthology

    3. The Net

  23. 1. Re Orient: Change In Asian Societies (3rd Ed)
    Author: Vervoorn
    (For uni very boring)

    2. Metallica: Self titled or Black album

    3. On TV: The Patriot – Mel Gibson rocks!
    At cinema: Hostel – I wish I hadn’t

  24. Thought I can participate too.

    1. Currently reading: The Lie of Evolution and Genesis and the Decay of the Nation Evolution by Ken Ham

    2. This must be love by Cary Schimdt.

    3. Failure to Launch (funny movie)

    God bless!

  25. Did you know that Phillips, Craig, and Dean are not trinitarian? They all have background in the United Pentecostal Church. They have taken down their website that showed this. Very disappointing.

  26. 1. Jonathan Edwards: A Life by George Marsden. Almost finished.
    The Celtic Way of Evangelism by Hunter. About 1/3 through.
    Spurgeon: A New Biography by Arnold Dallimore. Just started.

    2. Smokey Norful

    3. Babette’s Feast

  27. I’m currently reading reclaiming the center by Millard Erickson

    Steve Bell’s Beyond a shadow is in my cd player.

    Last movie I saw was Stuart Little 3. I was pleasanly surprised πŸ™‚

    God bless,

    Doug

  28. 1. I am presently reading The Coherence of Theism by Richard SWwinburne.

    2. I don’t listen to music in my CD player. I usually listen to lectures. I am presently listening to a series of lectures on Logic presented by
    John Robbins.

    3. With four kids we don’t get out to the movies but about once a year. However we have been attending a church that meets in a movie theatre while it is building a new campus.

  29. Stumbled across your blog and thought I’d jump in.

    1. Reading Face to Face With God by Bill Johnson. Re-reading Orthodoxy by GK Chesterton. Both excellent.

    2. Shuffling on the ipod this morning, Rich Mullins (Peace), Misty Edwards (Light of Your Face), the 77’s (Nobody’s Fault But Mine)…

    3. Nacho Libre (perhaps the finest film on Mexican Priests and Wrestling in the history of cinema) “Would you like to join me in my quarters this night…for some toast?”

Leave a Reply

