Let’s Talk Baseball

Normally, any sports-related post that I might write this time of the year deals either with hunting or football, but I am deviating from that practice to discuss the baseball playoffs.

First, I want to extend my heart-felt sympathies (snicker) to any Cubs fans who might frequent this site. I wish I knew what to say to ease your pain, but since I am a Braves fan, I have no idea of what you are going through. 😉

Second, I’ve got to send some props out to the Rays. I don’t think anyone outside of Tampa Bay at the beginning of the season was predicting them to even make the wild-card, let alone win the division. Every prognosticator I saw was picking either the Yankees (snicker) or the Red Sox with all of them mentioning Toronto as a dark horse just to cover their bets.

I’ve got to send a tip of the hat to Joe Torre. After being dissed and dumped by the Yankees (snicker, snicker) he has to be feeling just a bit vindicated right now.

Who am I leaving out, now…? That’s right, the Phillies. They put together a good year and I’ll be rooting for them to win the NL.

So here are my predictions.

Phillies over the Dodgers in 7. (Good pitching beats good hitting in the playoffs)

Red Sox over the Rays in 6. (The Sox are hot right now, and they have been here before)

World Series:  Red Sox over the Phillies in 7.

My blogging friend, Tony Foeller, has a contest with prizes going on at his place, go over there and tell him I sent you.

3 responses to “Let’s Talk Baseball

  1. Well, I hope you’re wrong on one count; that is, the Red Sox beating the Rays. I know that’s what is being predicted, but I do hope it’s wrong. It has been fun watching them playthis year. I’ve had the chance to see several games.

    And I think it is just the greatest thing that Joe Torre is in competition and the Yankees aren’t. Poor Yankees, they weren’t treated fairly according to Hank.

    Go Rays.

  2. Once the KC Royals season is over we don’t talk baseball in my neighborhood until spring training 😦

  3. I really only care about the Dolphins.

    But that’s for another time.

Leave a Reply

