An Opportunity for Excellence

It is my humble opinion that both political parties have an opportunity to excel over the next few days.

As Hurricane Gustav bears down on the beleaguered Gulf Coast, it seems that both sides are falling over themselves in an attempt to focus on those in the path of the storm.

I only pray that this will continue through the storm and the aftermath. The highest ideal in this situation would be for both sides to forget the colors of red and blue and remember that we are all Americans. I say shame on either party who attempts to use this potentially tragic situation to gain political capital.

It is the time for the country to unite in prayer and compassion for our fellow citizens. Both candidates claim to be Christians (and I am not questioning the validity of those claims here), may their actions stem from the fruit of the Spirit and not a desire for self-glorification.

I can hope, can’t I?

5 responses to “An Opportunity for Excellence

  1. I invite all Republicans, McCain supports & conservatives to visit the post below. Please, I encourage comments after you read this post:

    http://ajnone.wordpress.com/2008/08/31/debating-politics-on-the-way-to-espns-ncaa-football-game-of-the-week/

  2. Good call, Gordon.

  3. Amen.
    T.A.

  4. Sure…you can hope.

    Seriously, anybody who can should be praying right now.

  5. Ditto your call to prayer Gordon.

    Not sure that I care to see much of the candidates.. maybe they could just be quiet for a few days instead of presenting themeselves for on-the-scene photo ops.. like they are really helping.

Leave a comment