Let The Games Begin

After months of preparation, posturing and politicking on the part of the Chinese, the Olympic games are ready to get underway tonight in Beijing. I must admit to feeling somewhat conflicted about these games. I am still scratching my head as to how China wound up as the host to begin with, given their track record on human rights and other issues.

However, I also see this as an opportunity for the gospel to be carried into a place where it is not always welcome. In addition, there will be many visitors from other nations that are closed to the gospel. Let us pray that the Christians who are able to attend the games will take advantage of every opportunity to share the good news while they are there.

As a form of a Weekend Survey, tell us what you are most looking forward to in these games? Experts predict a strong showing from our ladies’ gymnastics team, our swim team looks to be formidable as well. I think, though, that I am most interested in seeing if our men’s basketball team can reclaim their spot atop the heap. I am a big fan of Mike Krzyzewski and it seems that he and Jerry Colangelo have assembled the most talented team we have fielded in several years, perhaps since the original Dream Team. In the few glimpses I have had of them in their exhibition games, there seems to be a good chemistry between the players that was missing in Athens. 

What are you looking forward to seeing?

13 responses to “Let The Games Begin

  1. I agree with you on all your thoughts about China hosting the Olympics. Gymnastics are always a favorite, and it sounds like the women have a good chance. I, too, would love to see the basketball team on top again.

    I even enjoy all the track events.

    The only thing that deters me from watching is the droning of Bob Costas. I know he is touted as being a wonderful commentator and all that, but I find him boring. The human interest stories help make it the event that it is, but I like to see the actual event.

    That’s all.

  2. My heart breaks for those in the darkness of China. 21 years ago I witnessed the light in this darkness first hand as I sat in an underground church meeting in China. I am thanking God for those who risk their lives to bring the light of the gospel to China.

    That said I generally enjoy the track events the most.. also enjoy the swimming and diving events as well as the gymnastics.

  3. I enjoy nearly all the Olympic events with the exception of rhythmic gymnastics. Last Olympics I woke my wife up at 2:30 AM, pounding on the floor, chanting “USA! USA! USA!” I think an American had won fencing or some other obscure sport. (She wasn’t as enthusiastically patriotic as I was at the moment.)

    So, for the next two weeks I’ll have a severe sleep deficit.

  4. Gordon,
    I have chosen not to view the Olympic Games this time. I do pray for the Christians in China to be free to proclaim the Gospel, and our brothers and sisters who are bound there, because of their faith.
    The Christian brothers and sisters who live in China are probably better witnesses of the faith of Christ than most American’s who profess to be Christians. I am not even certain as to how I would stand under their circumstances. I would like to think that I would stand for Christ to the death, and by His grace I would, and will when I face that situation.
    God bless you.
    T.A.

  5. OK, that 4 x 100 Freestyle relay by our men’s swim team just might be one of the most electrifying sports moments I have ever witnessed.

    I also enjoyed the Bob Costas interview with President Bush, but it wasn’t quite as exciting as that swimming race.

    Thanks everyone, for your comments. Feel free to continue sharing your thoughts as the Olympics unfold. If anyone is interested, Tim Ellsworth is blogging the Olympics on Baptist Press Sports (there is a link in my blog roll). He also has some interesting stories on various Christian Olympians that are interesting reads.

  6. Gordon, that relay is an example of why I watch the Olympics! Love the passion and drive. I also enjoy seeing trash-talkers get their come-uppance. :p

  7. Cameron, I have been watching the sportscasters with a little amusement. They have been making little attempt to hide their glee at our relay team upstaging the French.

    Given the recent trend in the media to bash America on the international front, wouldn’t it be ironic if a Frenchman were responsible for a revival of patriotism among the media?

  8. Irony indeed. Earlier this morning I read someone criticizing the “Great Lie Machine” (lefty-speak for Mainstream Media?) for trumpeting the success of the Olympic Team. Poor journalists can’t win for losing!

    BTW . . . loved watching that gritty effort by the men’s gymnastics. The Chinese certainly deserved their gold, but the US team exceeded expectations.

  9. Yeah, our guys did great in gymnastics.

    In the interest of international relations, what is everyone’s favorite “non-U.S. Olympic moment” thus far?

    I think mine is watching the excitement on the face of the man from Togo who took the bronze medal in whitewater. It was the first Olympic medal in his nation’s history.

  10. Brother Gordon, I too enjoyed the 4×100 relay the men won. It created a bit of high drama in the bed as Debbie and I were settling in for the night.

    I sort of got excited and was jumping up and down in the bed. Debbie got a kick(literally) out of it anyway!

    The guy from Togo winning a medal was exciting. You think he’s a national hero now? The commentators were speculating he would be the Michael Phelps of Togo.

  11. My favorite non-USA moment was the little girl who sang for the opening ceremony. Did you hear her? She made it seem so effortless.

    They said the director loved symbolism. I don’t think he could have found anything that embodies these OG any better.

  12. Bro. Russell, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the race. The question I would have to ask you though, is, “Did Sis. Debbie kick back?” 😉

    I’ve got a feeling that the Togo kayaker won’t have to pay for his coffee for a long time to come.

  13. Cameron, you are BAD!!

Leave a Reply

