Weekend Survey

It’s been a while since I’ve done a weekend survey. The topic for this one is annoying TV commercials. There are several companies attempting to sell products over the airwaves right now who should fire their ad campaign executives as well as the people who hired them. These commercials go beyond bad to downright annoying. Instead of encouraging me to try their product, they have actually pushed me away by the incredibly low level of intelligence of their ads. Here they are in no particular order:

The GEICO commercials with the talking lizard.

The Sonic Drive-in ads with the really dumb guy.

The Verizon Wireless ad with the carolers singing “We Wish You a Happy Deal Day”.

The Coke Zero commercials where Coca-Cola corporate reps are trying to decide if it is feasible to sue themselves for taste infringement.

And am I the only one who is wierded out by the gigantic plastic Burger King who suddenly appears in people’s bedrooms with a breakfast tray?

Thanks for allowing me to vent a little. Feel free to add to the list. God bless and have a great weekend.

12 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. The cell phone commercial where it’s always the same person talking to us as is doing something else (shooting pool, searching cars).

    The credit card commercial telling us “I want it all/I want it now.”

  2. Hey Bro. Gordon,

    Just thought you put some good ones up to rant about.

    I have a new one that I like now , but it just shows how much our little children learn from commercials.

    My new favorite at the moment is the one about the Dairy Queen commercial with a little girl selling a hotdog and blizzard when her Dad comes home and then displays her closed sign when He goes back to check it out ?

    Blessings and see you Sunday !
    Ron.

  3. My feeling is that any company with commercials as dumb as the Geico ads are can not be trusted to handle my insurance.
    The ads such as “I want it now” “have it your way” “you deserve to have it your way” show the greedy selfish society we now live in.
    Thanks for letting and old man vent his frustrations on a media that things everyone is as dumb as they are.
    Daddy

  4. I second the motion on the Burger King adds.

    My theory on commercials is this: There is a reason a company has to spend so much money and go to such extremes to be creative. When you have a hard sell, you have to try harder. A quality product sells itself. It doesn’t need talking lizards or silent royalty.

  5. T. A. Blankenship

    Gordon,
    I think all that you mentioned and one I think, and get tired of is the “Head On” commercials, if I am naming it correctly.
    T.A.

  6. Hey everybody. Sorry I’m a little late getting back with you.

    Galen, I meant to include the “I want it all” commercial in the list. I’m glad you added it.

    Bro. Ron, I haven’t seen that one yet. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for it.

    Daddy, I mentioned the lizard just for you.

    Cameron, that’s a good point.

    Bro. TA, I think the “Head On” people are trying to create a need for their product with their commercials. I agree with you entirely.

  7. On the other hand, a new one that I really like is the V8 commercial where the guy at a dinner party sneaks his plate to the dog who then clobbers him in the forehead.

  8. Ditto misawa for me!

  9. I like the Geico. 😉

    but they don’t MAKE commercial like they use to

    like ” WHERE THE BEFF, MR. WHIPPLE , and Mr. Clean

  10. One that I dislike is the one for the structured settlements…”It’s my money, and I want it now!” It keeps getting louder and louder.

    The other one I really odn’t like is Viva V*agra. It was bad enough when they started advertising feminine products, but this…Bah!

  11. Janice, I think “Where’s the beef?” is an all-time classic.

    Beverly, we are in one accord on the products you mentioned.

  12. Marilyn (previously of Palatka)

    Ditto to those Burger King plastic face comments! BK ought to fire their ad agency!

    GEICO cave men commercials!

    All FreeCreditReport.com commercials are annoying and the song tends to stay in your brain.

    Ban any commercial for ED products or Feminine Hygiene or JustForMen hair color! Or how about those two women who eat Yoplait yogurt and talk about how good/bad it is? Don’t all bridesmaids sit around at the reception eating yogurt?

    ALL political ads (local and national!) Have you seen the one with the woman holding the baby (Alex?) and talking to John McCain about staying in Iraq for 100 years? Never does she say she is the mother.

Leave a Reply

