Weekend Survey

Praise the Lord! We are finally getting some heavy, soaking rain here. We have been in desperate need of it for some time and we can use a lot of it over the winter to help us recover from our drought.

Β I must confess that I love “bad” weather. Some of you may find that wierd, but I’m sure some of you may already hold that opinion of me anyway, so I’m just confirming it for you. πŸ˜‰

For about 4 years when I was growing up, my Dad pastored a church in the mountains of West Virginia. I can remember when we would have a snowstorm, we would get to stay up late if there was no school the next day. Our family would sit around the kitchen table eating molasses cookies, drinking hot chocolate and playing Rook. That was some of my favorite bad weather.

I think now my favorite inclement weather is when the temperature is about fifty degrees or a little lower and raining.

Now that I have been transparent with my wierdness, what is your favorite “bad” weather?

19 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. U wierd , that’s a good one! πŸ˜‰

    I love thunderstorms, and snow storms, if I don’t have to drive in them.
    but snow storms are the best for taking pic πŸ˜‰

    have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

  2. Thunderstorms, big burly ones with close lightning and all. I’m just awed anytime a bolt strikes near the home, immediately followed by the fear that it hit my home.

  3. Summer evening thunder storms. This summer we had one where the lightning was directly over us and in every direction. It put any manmade firework show to shame.

  4. I’m a West Texas boy, born and bred, so there’s nothing much better than a good ol’ thunderstorm. I sleep so soundly when it’s raining hard with massive thunder and lightning.

    I remember as a pre-teen/teen, sitting on my friend’s porch out on their farm, watching tornadoes cross the cotton fields. Tornadoes hit my town twice growing up, so I’m not a big fan. However, there are not many earthly phenomena that show the power of the Almighty more than a tornado. No wonder we called the big ones the “finger of God.”

  5. Definitely thunderstorm for me.

    And no, you’re not weird. That would be Cameron πŸ˜‰

  6. We just had some hard rains here north of Louisville.

    I love a good, hard night rain if I don’t have anywhere to be. It’s very peaceful. Good book-reading weather.

  7. I have to admit to a love/hate relationship with our hurricanes here. I love the way God works through them but I hate the suffering and sorrow. I consider the latter well worth the former.

  8. Occasionally “bad weather” will help me rationalize “staying inside” … and blogging of course πŸ™‚

  9. I heard that, Steve. 😦

    Actually, that’s one I won’t deny. Must be the company I keep. πŸ˜‰

  10. Cameron, must be πŸ˜‰

  11. T. A. Blankenship

    Gordon,
    I have to go drive a school bus in just a few minutes and just happened to notice your weekend survey.
    My favorite bad weather is thunderstorms. The flash and booms of the lightning, the wind. The sounds of the wind rushing through the trees. My family thinks I am strange about this.
    T.A.

  12. Thanks, everyone for sharing. It would seem that thunderstorms are the overwhelming favorite.

    Not one fan of duststorms in the whole bunch…

    Interesting.

  13. Pigpen would be the only 1 I know that likes duststorms,

    how come no one likes snowstorms? 😦

  14. Jel,

    When a thunderstorm ends, unless there is severe flooding or mud, one can immediately go about their business.

    When a snowstorm ends, while the actual storm may be exciting and interesting and beautiful, it often leaves us quite hampered.

    That’s my thought on why people don’t like snowstorms, but referenced thunderstorms.

  15. hay Steve,
    eye C your point , and when eye had to go to work eye didn’t care for it, but eye don’t have to now ,
    guess I’m the wierd one here, cause eye love a snowstorm, πŸ˜‰

  16. Right before a big storm rolls in, (It does not snow in Brisbane, Australia) Thunder, lightening, rain, maybe hail (the most recent one we had hail stones up to being as big as tennis balls) what I like most is the smell.

    There is something ‘alive’ in the air and the smell just before or just after a storm is awesome.

    MDM

  17. It’s raining and windy in extreme southern Illinois today…..wind chill is 40. I love it.

    Heading out to the woods tomorrow. Looking for a pre-rut monster to walk about 10 yards in front of me, stop, and point to his vital area!

  18. I remember those snowstorms in Marlinton and even an occasional train would whistle along but those may have already quit running when you lived there.

  19. Dock? Is that really you, man? How in the world are you? You have to drop me an email so we can catch up. It is great to hear from you.

    And yes, the trains had quit running by the time we lived there.

Leave a Reply

