Play It Again

   I posted this hymn last year about this time. Since then it has been one of my most popular posts, particularly in search engines. To me, it is one of the most magnificent hymns that we sing in the church today. I hope that it will add a small measure of joy to your celebration of the resurrection of our Lord.

Hallelujah, What a Savior

“Man of Sorrows,” what a name

For the Son of God who came

Ruined sinners to reclaim

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Bearing shame and scoffing rude

In my place condemned He stood

Sealed my pardon with His blood

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Guilty, vile and helpless we

Spotless Lamb of God was He

Full atonement, can it be?

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Lifted up was He to die

“It is finished,” was His cry

Now in Heav’n exalted high

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

When He comes, our Glorious King

All His ransomed home to bring

Then anew this song we’ll sing

HALLELUJAH, WHAT A SAVIOR!

5 responses to “Play It Again

  1. VERY AWESOME!!!!!!

  2. I never noticed before that this hymn has no direct reference to the resurrection. It says that Jesus is glorified in heaven now, but doesn’t talk about the resurrection.

    Since I believe that his physical resurrection is a very crucial part of the salvation that he gives us, I humbly submit to you my addition to this great hymn:

    Raised in glory from the grave
    Living now with pow’r to save
    Life to us He freely gave
    HALLELUJAH, WHAT A SAVIOR!

  3. That’ll work, Steve.

  4. That is a good hymn. Of course, we sang it at the Maundy Thursday and Good Friday services.

  5. That is a great song. I also like Steve’s addition of the verse on the resurrection.
    Very good.

Leave a Reply

