Agree or Disagree?

   Do you agree or disagree with the premise stated below:

Every work of God is either creative or redemptive.

Redemption reveals the intent of creation.

Creation reveals the extent of redemption.

Thoughts, anyone?

7 responses to “Agree or Disagree?

  1. Tim A. Blankenship

    Without spending a lot of time on it, which I am not sure I could anyway. I agree with the statement. And all for His own glory.

  2. I think a case might be made that the scripture indicates this to be the desire of God in each of His works but to call each act itself either creative or redemptive might be a stretch (Gen. 6:13).

    If the intent and extent statements are true then Universalism is true.

  3. No, I do not think I agree with that.

  4. TA and Matthew, thanks for your response.

    KC, I would be interested to know about the connection you see between this statement and universalism.

  5. If the intent of all creation was either to fall in order that it be redeemed or was created lost for that purpose and the extent of redemption is all creation then all creation is redeemed, hence Universalism.

  6. I’m not sure what the statements are getting at.

    I believe that the intention of all of God’s grace is redemptive. God intends that common grace (creation) should draw people toward Him as the Creator.

  7. Thanks for your answers, everyone. I hope to expand on this thought next week.

    KC, I see where you are coming from, but I think once you see the context in which I developed this statement that it may appear differently. (At least I hope so. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

