Elvis Lives

   That’s right, you read it here. Elvis lives. I saw him with my own two eyes Saturday afternoon. I’ll bet you’ll never guess where, so let me tell you the story.

   As I mentioned in my Weekend Survey, I took the family to Lake Seminole State Park for some fun and relaxation. We left our house shortly after lunch and after stopping by my parent’s house to take them some strawberries, we went to the Wal-mart in Bainbridge, GA, to pick up some bratwursts and accompanying goodies.

   While we were doing our shopping, I heard the strains of “I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You” coming from the part of the store to where we were headed. As we passed the jewelry department, I saw a large banner advertising a karaoke contest. Sure enough, there was a short, somewhat chunky version of Elvis on stage singing to Marilyn Monroe. Elvis had on the ubiquitous white-sequined suit, unbuttoned in the front exposing his pasty white chest (it was whiter than the suit). His pompadour was bigger than he was.

   A few minutes later, we came back by and there was a preacher (?) on stage performing a marriage ceremony for Elvis and Marilyn. The cashier told me they were renewing their vows…dressed up in silly costumes…in Wal-mart. Isn’t that romantic?

   We continued on to the lake where we had a great time of fun and relaxation, all except for the four hours of non-stop jet skiing right in front of where I was trying to enjoy my Grisham novel. They were so loud that I could barely hear my Miles Davis CD.

   Pardon me for a ranting a little here. Why is that people on jet skis think that the whole world exists for watching them do stupid stunts and scream like maniacs? I began to recall a favorite episode of the Andy Griffith show in which Barney buys a motorcycle and begins to terrorize the citizens of Mayberry with it. Aunt Bee offered the solution of stringing a strand of barbed wire across the road. But, after I thought about it, I realized that probably wasn’t the Christian thing to do.

   Eventually they quit and I enjoyed fifteen minutes of blissful quiet before the mosquitoes came out and made me go home.

   All in all, it was a pretty fun day.

4 responses to “Elvis Lives

  1. ARE you sure ya , didn’t get a tad to much sun there Gordon, Elivs & Marilyn , getting married in a WAL MART’s store! 😕

  2. Sorry you didn’t get so much relaxing done at the park…but it does sound like a fun day…renewing vows at Walmart …romantic??? NOT…lol
    catching up on your survey…I too love the GA mountains…I will be visiting them this very weekend! heather must not live far from me…
    anything on the grill is great but I do love me a good steak…marinated in Dales of course…I grew up in Florence AL where the original Dales restaurant is located…used to have that stuff shipped in when we live in PA..haha

  3. Janice, it may seem that way, but I went to Walmart before I went to the lake.

    JG, the Dale’s Sauce just adds such a great flavor to the steak.

  4. yel but , was you not in the sun before you went into the store 😉

Leave a Reply

