Weekend Survey–Early Edition

   I really had good intentions about posting more this week. There were several topics on my mind that I wanted to discuss with you. To be perfectly honest, I have been too busy at times this week to post substantively, and at others, simply lacked the clarity of thought or motivation.

    It could be a mild case of “spring fever.” We are in the early stages of what is looking like a gorgeous spring here. The mere sight of azaleas and dogwoods blooming simultaneously is enough to trigger a peaceful, dreamy sort of contentment and apathy that is, at times, hard for me to break out of.

   All right now, enough pathetic excuses. On with the survey. I have asked all of these questions before, but it has been so long, that I hope your answers have changed. If not, that’s okay, feel free to leave the same ones. It has been so long that I won’t remember what they were. (I know, I know, I could look them up in the archives, but I lack the motivation. Spring fever, remember?)

1.  What are you reading right now?

2.  What music are you listening to lately?

3.  What is the last movie you saw?

My answers:

1.  The Peacemaker by Ken Sande. (Very insightful so far)

2.  Gold City (Revival)

3.  “Night at the Museum”–a very funny movie.

   Feel free to share your answers. Perhaps there are some lurkers who have never introduced themselves on this blog, this would be a wonderful chance to get acquainted.

   I truly hope everyone has a blessed weekend.

  

21 responses to “Weekend Survey–Early Edition

  1. 1. What are you reading right now?
    The computer, Oh did you mean book? The Icewind Dale Trilogy by R. A. Salvatore

    2. What music are you listening to lately?
    the radio

    3. What is the last movie you saw?
    Rocky V (on DVD about 30 minutes ago)

  2. Tim A. Blankenship

    The Bible daily, “Future Grace” by John Piper, and “The Rising” by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins.
    The best gospel music in the world Southern Gospel.
    “A Night With The King”
    “Flight of the Phoenix” the old one with Jimmy Stewart.

  3. lets try this again,
    was here before, and had all written out , and the power went out before i could hit te send button

    1. Finding God in the story of Amazing Garace, (Kurt Bruner & Jim Ware) and Summer of Light (W. Dale Cramer) very good books so far.
    2. Mercyme. (almost there) and the song “I CAN ONY IMAGINE” is an AWESome song
    i play it about 3or 4 times a day! 😉

    3. Facing the Giants & Cars ( on dvd)

    have a great weekend

  4. Reading – “The Fair Tax Book” by Neal Boortz and Sen. John Linder.
    Listening – “Strong Tower” by Kutless
    Movie – “Windtalkers”, probably the worst WWII movie I’ve seen.

  5. 1. Lisa Samson’s new fiction book, Quaker Summer. It proves to be interesting so far.
    2.Women of Faith, The Artist Collection. My husband bought it for me is he great or what?
    3.” Night at the Museum” It is one I would definitely like to see again. It is very funny.

  6. Amy sounds like ya Did good ! 😉

  7. 1. Ephesians by Paul. “First Things” – a journal. Lectures on Calvinism by Kuyper. God at Work by Veith. Listening to the Beliefs of Emerging Chruches by Webber (ed.).

    2. hmmm… well, since the radio in my car is broken and I only own a few tapes, I am limited in my selection. I’m currently listening to Smalltown Poets. Before that I listened to Delirious. When I’m in my wife’s van, we listen to the radio, preferably classic rock.

    3. Theatre: Holiday, DVD: 24 (season 2) – even though it is a TV show intead of a movie, Cable: National Lampoon’s Vacation.

  8. I think it must be genetic with the survey thing. Between you and Cameron, I’m staying pretty busy with these surveys. 🙂

    Disclaimer: My current reading/listening/viewing should not be taken as an endorsement of items mentioned.

    1. Blue Like Jazz- Donald Miller (I know, this is like branding myself a heretic)

    2. Mockingbird- Derrek Webb (Now I’m really in trouble.) Let me add our Easter musical CD “Bow the Knee,” which we’re doing at church, just to be on the safe side. I’m still working on my duet. There, now I don’t feel so much like I’ve drifted to the dark side.

    3. It’s been a while since I’ve watched a bonified movie. I watch a lot of stuff with my kids, animated movies like “The Fox and the Hound”. We watched the Lewis and Clark documentary last week, which my kids love.

    Also, (and now I know I’m gonna be branded a liberal for this) I watched the HBO documentary on evangelicals produced by Alexandria Polosi with my chairman of the deacons. That was an interesting experience.

  9. I’ll join in!

    Currently reading– I am never reading just one book at a time. So, at the moment I am reading:
    Another Place at the Table by Kathy Harrison (a book about foster parenting) and Ishmael by E.D.E.N Southworth (we’re reading this as a family)

    Music – Jazz station on XM Radio
    and Amy Grant

    latest movieIt’s a Wonderful Life (I know…it’s typically watched at Christmastime, but our son was interested in watching it, so we went to the library and checked it out!)

    This has been fun to read everyone’s answers.
    Thanks Gordon!

  10. I’ll join in too … And Alan — you are listening to Smalltown Poets? One of our very best friends used to be the drummer 🙂 …..

    1. What are you reading right now?
    Hmmm … homeschooling catalogs? Do those count? 😉 I’m also currently reading through the Child’s Story Bible with my daughter and I am enjoying that actually.

    2. What music are you listening to lately?
    I keep listening to Matt Redman’s song “You Never Let Go” over and over right now – love that song! Otherwise, my iPod is set on shuffle 🙂

    3. What is the last movie you saw?
    In the theater? Finding Nemo (I don’t get out much 😉 ), but on TV – Men in Black and on DVD – Napleon Dynamite

    Have a 🙂 weekend!

  11. Heather,

    Yes. I’m listening to their first tape. I think it’s just called Smalltown Poets.

    -Alan

  12. I’m reading “The Blessing” by Gary Smalley.
    I’m listening to the only true Southern Gospel Diva, Kelley Murphy.
    I watched Mission Impossible II on tbs last weekend.

  13. 1. I’m reading lots of stuff. Grant Osborne’s Revelation commentary stands out.

    2. Switchfoot’s Oh Gravity.

    3. Lady in the Water

  14. Alan –

    How cool! The drummer is (on that album, he’s no longer with them) our dear, dear friend Byron Goggin – he’s awesome! If you have the cover, he’s the guy standing up in the back. Enjoy 🙂

  15. Hey Gordon,

    Glad to see the Weekend Surveys up and running again.

    (1) Reading: The God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins (almost done, thank the Lord!), Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer, and The Sovereignty of God, by A.W. Pink.

    (2)Listening: Steve’s CDs, ‘Tis So Sweet and To Worship You. The radio is almost always tuned to WCPE, 89.7, THE classical station.

    (3) The last movies I watched were Beethoven Lives Upstairs and Return of The Jedi (for the one millionth time).

    I’m kind of a boring fellow.

  16. Currently reading the book of Jeremiah

    Reading- Islam at the Crossroads – Paul Marshall

    Listening to – Decemberadio and John piper podcasts

    Latest movie – Invinicble and season 2 of 24

    Doug

  17. Currently Reading – the Book of Hebrews and “Having a Mary Spirit” by Joanna Weaver (great book!)

    Music – fav right now is Chris Tomlin’s ‘Glory in the Highest’.

    Latest movie – went to see Bridge to Terabithia with my sons. I really enjoyed the movie Amazing Grace a few weeks ago.

    May the peace of the Lord Jesus be with you today!
    Scotti

  18. just finished the” Summer of Light ” (W.Dale Cramer) very AWESome book!!! 😉

    Oh Happy ST. Patty’s Day! 🙂

  19. Boy, you sure get a lot of comments when you do your surveys..:)
    I am current;y reading something about the making of millionaires ( i intend to be one some day 🙂 By Loral Langemeir
    I am listening to the FABULOUS CD by Bebo Norman “Between the Dreaming and the Coming True” Awesome…check it out
    and lastly…I watched Cars last nite and Crash a couple of nites ago…that’s really a lot of movies for me..but hey, I’ve been sick…:)
    BTW…you have a lovely wife…:)

  20. Just got to tell you of a book , that if you ever get the chance to read , you should, it is
    INTIMACY with the ALMIGHTY, (Charles R. Swindoll). I don’t know if it is still in print, it was wrote back in “96” I woke up at 1am this morn, and couldn’t get back to slept. so I try studying but couldn’t get into it , been thinking about a friend who is really down , and trying to think of something to say or do. so as I was looking around for somthing to read , I saw this book on my book case , now it has been there a long time, and I think i had read it a long time ago.
    but it didn’t stick, so I picked it up , and stated to read it, and you know what , it was just what I need to read, inside this book is, Encountering Christ in the Secret places of Tour Life! Mr Swindoll is talking about his walk, and others,
    This one part that got to me, was when he told of an Clegyman came to him and told him, that him was just going on fume, that he was loney, Hollow , shallow enslaved to a Schedule, and he started to cry hard, ( that was the part that got to me) well any way , I better stop here before Gordon kicks me off , for talking so much. 😕 just need to share this! Thanks

  21. Better late than never right?
    1. Book~ Shepherding a (or was it Your?) Child’s Heart…and to the kids…Charolette’s Web and Ramona the Pest
    2. Music~ Aaron Shust
    3. Movie~ Facing the Giants

Leave a Reply

