And We’re Back!

  What a trip! My dad and I had a wonderful trip to Atlanta the last couple of days to attend the State Evangelism Conference of the Georgia Baptist Convention. We were not able to get there for the entire event but we were thoroughly blessed by what we heard.

    We had the opportunity to hear Dr. Fred Luter, Dr. Ergun Caner, Dr. Johnny Hunt, and Dr. David Jeremiah among others. I was refreshed and challenged on several levels. Charles Billingsley brought some inspiring music as well.

   In addition, we had some wonderful fellowship with some old friends and made some new ones as well. It was especially nice to meet Galen Towns, aka Misawa, and fellowship over a cup of coffee with him. He is a frequent visitor and commentor here and is just as pleasant in person as he is on the web.

   After a quick visit to Bass Pro Shops (I could have stayed there all day) we returned home yesterday feeling a little tired in the body, but very refreshed in the spirit. The only problem is, since my dad is preaching a revival for us at Pine Park next week, I don’t get to preach for another week and a half or so. I may burst a blood vessel or something in the meantime.

17 responses to “And We’re Back!

  1. Glad you had a good time , and a safe trip! 🙂

    did ya get anything good from basspro 😉

  2. Thanks, Janice, I did pick up a few little items from Bass Pro Shops. I got some gifts for Amy and the boys and a vinyl cover for my smoker.

  3. cOOL!

    did ya get to meet Mr Jeremiah? 😉

  4. See, that’s what I like about Bass Pro – there’s something for everyone!

    It really was a pleasure meeting both you and your dad, Gordon. Definitely give me a holler if y’all are up this way again.

  5. Janice, I didn’t get to meet Dr. Jeremiah. I did get to meet Ergun Caner and found that he is not nearly as mean as some people make him out to be.

    Misawa, Bass Pro Shops is an awesome place. It’s probably good that we don’t have one near me, I would spend way too much time and money there, I am afraid.

  6. Tim A. Blankenship

    Gordon,
    It sounds and looks like you had a great evengelism conference. I know you had some good preachers there by the lineup you gave. I love listening to Dr. Caner preach. The others too.

  7. Bass Pro Shops — it’s like its own little world. The one here even has NASCAR simulators. Wahoo!

  8. Hi,

    It sounds like a cool conference. Did you learn anything interesting? What are you going to do with what you learned?

    Bill

  9. Glad you’re back. I could get lost in Bass Pro Shop; just too much temptation in there for one man to handle.

    Dr. Caner is a rather amiable fellow. Dr. Luter is the man, though. Preaches faster than any man I’ve ever heard. Did he share the “alphabet of sin?”

  10. Gordon –

    Glad you’re back and had a good trip. I’m sorry that we didn’t get a chance to all meet up, but I’m glad that you did get a chance to meet misawa 🙂

    Bass Pro Shops … yes, 10 minutes from my house … and I’m married to a major outdoorsman … how often do you think we go there?

    ~Heather

  11. I’ve never been in a Bass Pro Shop. Last year when I went to Nashville, the tour guide pointed out the store there at the OpryLand Mills Outlet. I think I missed something.

    Glad you had a good time at the conference. It’s good to be able to take in, isn’t it. You’re always giving out.

  12. I love those guys. I expecially enjoy David Jeremiah and Charles Billingsly.

    But I LOVE Bass Pro Shops.

  13. TA, I believe you would have been blessed by this conference.

    Bobby, NASCAR simulators would awesome.

    Bill, that is a great question. Many of the sermons simply renewed my passion for seeking the lost. The one thing that really challenged me the most was Ergun Caner’s message on engaging the culture. That is something that I have tended to avoid for some reason or another. I intend to change that and start trying to find ways to build stronger connections with lost people.

    Tony, actually, Dr. Luter did share the “alphabet of sin”, it was really good.

    Heather, I couldn’t imagine living that close to Bass Pro Shops. I would probably go there more than I go to Wal-Mart.

    Beverly, if they would only put a barbecue restaurant in Bass Pro Shops it would be my idea of heaven on earth. And you are right, I definitely needed to “take in” some good Bible preaching.

    Joe, I think you and I would get along great.

  14. They have a restaurant, in the Bass Pro in Springfiled Mo . 😉

  15. sorry about my spelling 😕

  16. We’ve still gotta do a Braves game sometime with you, Galen and some others. That’d be a blast.

Leave a Reply

