An Oldie Goldie

A pastor who had just recently come to a new church was visiting each Sunday School class by turn to get better acquainted with his members.

One Sunday, he was visiting the Junior Boys’ class and the teacher invited him to ask the class a Bible question. He asked them, “Who tore down the walls of Jericho?” After a moment of awkward silence he fixed his gaze on a bright-looking lad in hopes that the boy would come up with the right answer.

The boy said, “Don’t look at me, Preacher, I didn’t do it.”

The pastor looked at the teacher with a quizzical expression on his face. The teacher said, “Pastor, I have known this boy his whole life. If he said he didn’t do it, I believe him.”

The concerned preacher went to the Sunday School director and apprised him of the situation. “Pastor,” replied the director, “I have the utmost confidence in that teacher. If she is willing to stand behind that boy, then so am I.”

Realizing that he was being faced with a real problem of biblical ignorance in the Sunday School staff, the preacher called an emergency meeting with his deacons in which he told them the details of what had happened.

After a moments pause, the chairman of the deacons said, “Preacher, I don’t think this is going to be a problem. We should just get an estimate on the damage and then take up an offering to pay for it.”

18 responses to “An Oldie Goldie

  1. Ooooooo … speaks volumes, doesn’t it?

  2. I know it’s kinda sad, but it’s pretty funny, too.

  3. I didn’t mean for that story to get out. …uh, you were talkin’ about WOLBC, right?

  4. Garry, don’t worry, brother. Your secret is safe with me.

  5. That is too funny, but as a commenter above stated, could be true, thus sad.

  6. I don’t get it.

    Why is it wrong for the deacons to want to make these repairs?

    🙂

  7. Probably because the insurance covered it anyway. 😎

  8. Tim A. Blankenship

    I too think it to be a funny story, but it does make a very good and valid point. Just how intelligent are Christians, and especially leaders concerning the Scriptures?
    The world at large is Scripturally illiterate, but it is also true that many who profess Jesus Christ are not much better off.
    I find it humorous and sad of the above, and the percentage of people who think that Joan of Ark was Noah’s wife.

  9. Hello I’m Joe’s Jottings Wife, BJ

    I just stopped in to visit,

    God Bless You.

    http://www.freewebs.com/friendsareagift

    http://www.freewebs.com/friendsareagift2

  10. Or that think the epistles were the wives of the apostles.

  11. Hi, Janice.

    Bro. TA, you are right about the lack of Scriptural knowledge among God’s people.

    BJ, it’s nice to meet you…again.

    Cameron, you mean they aren’t?

  12. Heh! Classic…I love it!

  13. Hey now that has to be fixed!

  14. I once made some outlandish statement to my Sunday School Director and “backed it up” by stating that it came from II Hezekiah 4:12. He picked up his Bible, searching for the Scripture. When he couldn’t find it, he turned to the table of contents, saying, “I don’t spend as much time in Hezekiah as I ought.” When he finally realized there was no Hezekiah, he got angry, threw his Bible down and resigned his post. Not a big loss.

  15. I love the blog that you have. I was wondering if you would link my blog to yours and in return I would do the same for your blog. If you want to, my site name is American Legends and the URL is:

    http://www.americanlegends.blogspot.com

    If you want to do this just go to my blog and in one of the comments just write your blog name and the URL and I will add it to my site.

    Thanks,
    David

Leave a Reply

