Guy’s Day Out

My wife, Amy, has been out of town for the last couple of days at a retreat for minister’s wives in Stone Mountain, GA. This is an annual event that she attends.

Hoping to avoid what happened last year while she was gone, I decided to take my two sons on a hike at St. Mark’s National Wildlife Refuge in St. Marks, FL. We were joined by my dad.

 We had an absolutely awesome time. This time of year there is a wide variety of birds wintering in the refuge. Among others, we saw two bald eagles, great blue herons, tri-colored herons, black-crowned night heron, wood stork, double-crested cormorant, and a variety of ducks. We also saw deer, several large alligators and an otter.

It was great to get out in the outdoors and see the beauty (my header picture was taken at St. Marks), have a picnic lunch on the side of the trail and enjoy some good company.

I just wanted to share it with you. I hope you have a great weekend.

9 responses to “Guy’s Day Out

  1. Bro. Gordon I can imagine the beauty that you and the little guys enjoyed ! Over the years { going back about 55 years ago when my dad and me and others used to camp down their and do a lot of fishing ? Back then we could explore the old light house! I don’t know if they have renovated it yet but before daybreak we would go out fishing and you could see the beaconing light from way out ? See you tommorow ! Ron.

  2. That sounds like tons of fun. I love hiking.

  3. Bro. Ron, I don’t think they have completely renovated it. As far as I know it is inactive and you can’t go in it.

    Nicholas, thanks for stopping by. I hope your basic training is going well. God bless.

  4. Gordon,
    That sounds like you had a great time. It is cold with some snow and ice on the ground here in the SHOW ME state.
    I like reading of your adventures.

  5. I love the Florida outdoors, especially alligators and otters…they’re the best!

  6. sounds like you had a great time! 🙂
    beats ours, we were at the Tax Man 😕

  7. We’ve finally got snow…and cold. My husband is joyfully using his snowblower for the first time this season…

    Gotta love that man…he’s the same way about the tractor in the summer!

  8. Thanks everybody for your comments. It’s always good to get out in the outdoors. It’s a little cool here now, but now ice or snow.

  9. How nice to be able to spend that time with your sons…a wonderful time for their memory bank.

Leave a Reply

