Weekend Survey

After an extended vacation, Weekend Survey has returned.

This week’s question is related to the previous post concerning the evident realities of life and the ideals of our faith.

Question: How has your perception of God changed since you first became a believer?

Since I was saved as a child, I think both my natural maturation process and my spiritual development have played a part in helping me to realize that God is more than an impersonal, “grandfather” type being. I have learned that He is a very personal, heavenly Father who, just about the time I think I have Him figured out, shows me a totally different aspect of His nature.

13 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. My perception of God changed shortly after my father died (just before I turned 21). Until that point, I really had never known what a broken heart was, nor did I know how great of a Healer He was.

  2. When I first became a believer I told God, If I am to believe in You, I need to know all about You. Because I know I can’t go back to where I was before this. My perception was one of if I do this You do this for me.
    Now, it seems kinda silly to be making deals with God at all. He brought me to Him when and where I needed Him the most. He brought me out of the mire. I can do nothing without Him. Praise God. (cuz i was doing a pretty rotten job on my own)

  3. My perception of God has (and continues to) improved. At the same time, I have become more aware of my finite understanding of Him.

    Not sure where I heard it (does that qualify as original?) but “The more I know of God, the more aware I am of how much there is to know and how little I really do.”

    Also, God has become more of a reality I have experienced than merely a concept I was aware of.

  4. I am becoming more and more aware of the presence of God. I am also learning that God is often speaking, though I seldom hear him. However, I am learning to listen to his voice, even in very unexpected places and at unexpected times. I think the most beautiful sound is the voice of God when and where I didn’t expect it.

    -Alan

  5. Excellent question!

    I think my perception of God has changed in many ways since I’ve become a believer. I don’t know how to qualify them all. nephos’ response definitely resonates with me as does krislinatin’s.

    If I had to boil it on down, I think I used to have a very “cause and effect” relationship with God – if I do this, He’ll do that. If I pray for this, He’ll do that. It was a very linear perception of God and my relationship.

    I think the way that it’s changed me the most is in my prayers. I rarely ask God for anything anymore. Instead I tell God the desires of my heart and ask him to help me be surrendered to whatever outcome He deems best.

  6. I was saved at an early age (9 years old), and it is very easy to trust God with something abstract like my soul for eternity. Death did not seem very real to me, and it could be so far off. So I had faith in something that realistically I could not prove. But, when we entered the ministry God became real on a daily basis. I have truly experienced the provision of God. He has been faithful to me and my family, even when my faith has wavered.

  7. My perception of God is MUCH more inclusive than what is was 30 years ago when I first came to Christ. Pain has caused me to change, caused me to be more compassionate, loving and accepting of others. I wish change could come easier but for me it doesn’t 🙂

  8. My perception of God has always been the same thru out life that He was the Grandfather type ! Only in the last few years He seems to be telling me that is not the only thing I want you to be? I guess I’m probable in my thoughts are afraid to ask Him what His perception is of me? But I do know that He is real and gracious and forgiving and has our best interest in mind for us? Many of us are like little children seeking something that is good and exciting and where else can you find that ? Blessings To All. RON. { ps} See you Sunday looking for another good message?

  9. I’m not even sure if I could articulate all the ways in which my perception of God has changed. But just about everything in my perception of Him has changed — for the better!! 🙂

  10. My perception of God at my tender preteen age was on of, “Jesus loves me yes i know, ’cause the Bible tells me so”

    As I have grown into adulthood God has become my end-all, be-all for every situation, every event, just plain everything I face in any given day.To me that is a huge God!

  11. Thanks for sharing, everyone. These are interesting answers. It’s great to know that our faith and understanding of God are growing.

  12. Gordon,
    I thank you for your comment at Fire and Hammer. I have not been able to get on line since last Thursday due to excessive noise on our phone line {dial up you know}.
    My perception of God has changed drastically since I was saved at the age of 11. I have found out that the closer I get to Him the more I realize how dirty and sinful a person I am. You know, the closer you get to the light the better you can see.
    I have really got a new understanding of His sovereignty, and that is something I do not completely understand, but I know to be true. I am very thankful for it.
    I hope you do not mind that I came into this weekend survey so late.
    T. A. Blankenship

  13. Thanks for commenting, TA. Better late than never. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. Hope your tech problems get resolved.

Leave a Reply

