Happy Thanksgiving

I hope all of you have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Be sure to give thanks and don’t eat too much turkey. Those tryptophan comas can sure lay you out!

 In honor of the holiday, let me share with you this recitation that George Younce of the Cathedral Quartet used to quote.

Today upon a bus, I saw a lovely girl

with golden hair.

I envied her, she seemed so happy

and I wished that I were as fair.

When suddenly she rose to leave

and I saw her hobble down the aisle.

She had one leg and wore a crutch,

but as she passed, she smiled.

Oh, God, forgive me when I whine.

I have two legs, and the world is mine.

Later on the way to work I stopped to buy some sweets.

The lad who sold them had such charm,

I stayed and talked with him a while.

If I were late, ‘twould do no harm.

As I left, he said, “Thank sir, you’ve been so kind.

It’s nice to talk to folks like you.”

“You see,” he said, “I’m blind”.

Oh God, forgive me when I whine.

I have two eyes, and the world is mine.

Later in the street I saw a child with eyes of blue.

He stood and watched the others play,

it seemed he didn’t know what to do.

So I said, “Why don’t you join the others dear?”

But he just looked straight ahead without a word,

and then I knew, he couldn’t hear.

Oh God, forgive me when I whine.

I have two ears, and the world is mine.

With legs to take me where I’d go,

With eyes to see the sunsets glow,

With ears to hear what I would know,

I’m blessed indeed, and the world is mine.

Thank you, Lord!

9 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Yes, Thank you Lord!

  2. O GOD forgive me when I whine ; [ I love Jesus, does he know? Have I ever told him so ? I know Jesus loves to hear me say,that I love him everyday .] Lets all be thankful and thank God that we can tell someone about his wonderful Grace. O GOD , forgive me when I whine! Blessings to ALL ! RON.

  3. Nice. Thanks for sharing.
    Mag

  4. Thanks, Gordon, for sharing that. A happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    I’ll be thinking of you when I watch the Florida-FSU game.

  5. Thanks for sharing that beautiful poem! I hope you a having a GREAT holiday !

  6. SOOOO much to be thankful for!

  7. Thanks for sharing this.

    I am the one who is too often blind — to the things that God has given me. I will never forget a mild rebuke I received from a friend who could not have children after trouble getting pregnant for our second child. A much needed perspective check — well placed and delivered by someone I knew who loved me.

    God has been so good to me even through my tough times.

  8. I heard this very poem from Sybil Leonard Armes so many years ago in the pulpit at Poly Baptist Church where her husband was the minister. She indeed was a wonserful influence on my life. She was eloquent in her own poems
    or anything that came out of her mouth. She like Goerbe Younce had a great influence on many people. Thank you for sharing this poem with us.
    Penny McCoy

  9. I heard this very poem from Sybil Leonard Armes so many years ago in the pulpit at Poly Baptist Church where her husband was the minister. She indeed was a wonserful influence on my life. She was eloquent in her own poems
    or anything that came out of her mouth. She like Goerge Younce had a great influence on many people. Thank you for sharing this poem with us.
    Penny McCoy

Leave a Reply

