Now I R 1

I used to laugh at the owners of Dachschunds. I used to call the dogs, “weiner dogs”. While always impressed by the fact that these little fellows didn’t realize they were little fellows, I never was impressed by the way their owners carried on about them.

 Now I R 1.

That’s right. The Lord chose to answer the prayers of my boys today. They have been praying for a dog. My wife’s co-worker, Rod, came in today and asked her if she would be interested in a registered Dachschund hound.

He is 11 months old and his name is George.

Rod told me he was cold-natured. When I was in Wal-Mart earlier getting some dog food and stuff, I noticed the little doggy sweaters. I almost bought one. Strange is the effect these little fellers have on their owners, is it not?

I hope to post some pictures soon. He really is a fine specimen of doghood.

7 responses to “Now I R 1

  1. Gordon,

    Please tell me you are kidding. I have a long-haired miniature dachschund and he is the dumbest animal I have ever owned; dumber than a white miniature poodle I once had for a very brief time. And that is saying a lot.

    My children simply adore him, so his only redeeming quality is that he has never even as much as bore a tooth at them and they REALLY abuse him. He seems to grow more fond of them the more they pull his ears.

    I hope your experience has been better than mine. Just do not expect very much! 😉

  2. i’ve always wanted a dog for myself when i was a kid but my mom wouldn’t let me. we have cats though because my dad loves cats. now that i’m married, i can have my own dog but i chose not to anymore. why? i don’t know. but i still find them so cute!

    glad to be back blogging. =)

  3. Tony, I hope my experience is better as well.

    Pia, it is so good to see you back! You were missed.

  4. I am so shocked, embarassed, depressed, and disappointed. I’m not sure how you could possibly blame this one on the Lord.

  5. Cameron since ya’ll are brothers are you going to try and keep up with him. [you know the keeping up with the joneses kind of thing?] He might could teach you something! RON.

  6. Oh Lord! at least it isn’t a Chihuahua!

  7. I had a dog named George once. He was a mean little shi tzu (sp?!). Now I have a husband named George. Not near as mean as the dog was, LOL!

    Our kids asked for a dog once. We told them to pray about it, meaning NO of course, and the very next day a beautiful red bone hound showed up on our porch. I’m not a dog fan, but that was one great animal.

    Congrats on your little George. Please tell me you didn’t actually put a sweater on that poor dog!

Leave a Reply

