Movie Review: Facing the Giants

Last night I had the opportunity to watch the movie, Facing the Giants. It was a very enjoyable and inspirational experience.

“Facing the Giants” is the story of Shiloh Christian Academy and their underachieving football team. Through a series of personal conflicts, their young coach comes to grips with his faith, thus changing his philosophy about life and coaching. This facilitates a new attitude for his team and brings about a change in the way they are playing and living.

 Let me begin by telling you what I did not see. This film was not produced in a Hollywood studio with a mega-budget. As you are probably aware, it was produced on a $100,000 budget by Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, GA. Thus, it doesn’t have a lot of special effects or bells and whistles that many movies use to cover up a lack of substance. Neither did I see any drinking, cussing, nudity or gratuitous violence (just some hard-hitting football action).

 What I did see was reality. The movie was very realistic in the way it portrays the struggles of life. Issues such as tight-budgets, infertility, job security and frustration are presented in such a way that most, if not all viewers will feel a connection with the lead characters.

I appreciated the unadulterated Gospel that was presented throughout the movie (this is why it was rated PG). The humor was a little contrived in some parts, but it was good for a few laughs, nonetheless. The football scenes were very realistic and the plot moved toward a fulfilling climax.

I highly recommend that you see this movie. You don’t have to be a Christian or a football fan to enjoy it, but after seeing it, you may become both.

9 responses to “Movie Review: Facing the Giants

  1. Loved the post! Check your e-mail I left you a note!

  2. I haven’t yet seen that movie, but I fully intend to. Thanks for the good review.

  3. If Coach Richt is in it, it has to be good!
    Hope to see this one soon.

  4. Gordon,
    I saw the movie when it first hit the theater here. I loved it. They made another movie previous to this one named “Flywheel”. It is excellent also. You can rent it at Blockbuster.

  5. I have only saw a clip from it at our Missouri Baptist Convention. It was used as an illustration for “Keeping ON”. The clip we viewed was where the player carried another all the way across the field on all fours, and on his back.
    I want to see the whole thing.

  6. Cameron, they really gave Coach Richt a lot of face time in this.

    Garry, “Flywheel” is an excellent movie as well.

    Tim and Beverly, it is well worth seeing. Take a friend.

  7. Am looking forward to seeing this movie this week with my boys…I’ve heard all good reviews!

  8. AWESOME Movie! 🙂

  9. Rindy and Janice, I’m glad y’all enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

