Weekend Survey

Let’s do karaoke this week!

Tell us about your favorite song. Tell us why it is your favorite. You can even post some or all of the lyrics (provided that they are clean of course).

You can even sing the song. If you like, record it and leave us a link so that we can listen to you.

 My all-time favorite would have to be the old hymn, “At the Cross”. I simply love every word of that song.

 God bless.

13 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. Favorite Hymn: “It is Well With My Soul”

    Love the words, progression and background story.

  2. It would be impossible to choose only one, but one of my favorites is Cowper’s “God Moves in a Mysterious Way”. The 3rd verse is especially precious: “Judge not the Lord by feeble sense, but trust Him for His grace; Behind a frowning providence, He hides a smiling face.”

  3. My favorite would have to be #147 in the good ole’ Baptist Hymnal, And Can it Be, especially verse three, which the best baptists ubiquitously skip.

    Long my imprisoned spirit lay, fast bound in sin and nature’s night; Thine eye diffused a quick’ning ray, I woke, the dungeon flamed with light; My chains fell off, my heart was free, I rose, went forth, and followed Thee. Amazing love, how can it be? That thou my God should die for me!

    Have a great weekend and blessed day of worship!

  4. Tony,

    I love that song AND verse. In fact it’s a top five fav.

    It’s a shame how much great truth gets ignored because it was included in the “third verse.”

  5. the grown up me likes, Amazing Grace, I love to sing it, and I love to here it played on the bagpipes,

    but my innerchild loves the Cartoon song
    sung by Chris Rice, Very cool and fun song! 🙂

    have a great weekend

  6. Am I allowed to talk about a secular song? Will that seem unspiritual?

    I love a song entitled Donimo by my favorite band, the Cocteau Twins. I just love it.

    Like most of their songs, the lyrics are incomprehensible nonsense language.

    It starts off sounding like a Victorian nursery rhyme, then the singer, Liz Frazer starts wailing her head off, as though in ecstacy.

    It is quite hard to describe Cocteau Twins songs. Their music does not really follow typcial song structure.

    ‘Donimo’ souns strangely religious, as though it is celebrating some religious festival with ecstatic joy.

    Like many of the Cocteau Twins songs, it has an heavenly, ethereal quality.

    Every Blessing in Christ

    Matthew

  7. I’m gong with a secular song for the moment too.

    It’s this:

    U2 – Yahweh

    (I hope that works)

    The lyrics are like a prayer.

  8. Tim A. Blankenship

    Gordon,
    I think I would have to claim “A Mighty Fortress” by Martin Luther. I like verse two which reminds us of who we are to trust.
    “Did we in our own strength confide, Our striving wouold be losing; Were not the right man on our side, The man of God’s own choosing: Dost ask who that may be? Christ Jesus it is He; Lord Sabaoth His name, From age to age the same, And He must win the battle.”
    I especially like the ending, “His kingdom is forever”. Sorry this is so long. Just wanted to share it.

  9. On the hymn front “Great is thy faithfulness” gets a good mention. In the last 50 years or so “Jesus loves me” for its simplicity and beauty. I’m writing a song which uses some of the words from this at the moment. Of recent times “Amazing Love (You are My King)” – again because of its simplicity and passion.

    Nice site – I found it through Technorati doing a search on ‘worship’.

  10. Many of my favorites have been mentioned in the above comments. At my husband’s memorial service, we sang as a congregation “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.” It says it all.

    At the end of the service, the choir sang “It Is Well With My Soul.” So those two probably top the list.

  11. Although “His Eye Is On the Sparrow” is my most favorite, a close second is “Come, thou fount of every blessing.” The third verse gets me every time!!
    “O to grace how great a debtor, daily I’m constrained to be!
    Let The goodness, like a fetter, bind my wand’ring heart to Thee:
    Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love;
    Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, Seal it for Thy courts above. –AMEN!
    Gordon, I am completely crushed that you didn’t even mention standing in the cold for an hour Sunday evening after that busy day and visiting with old Friends:) We love you guys!

  12. Thanks everybody, for your input. Kelley, I always enjoy hearing you sing “His Eye Is on the Sparrow”. I didn’t mention standing in the cold with y’all because that really wasn’t stressful at all. It was great to see you guys.

Leave a Reply

