Weekend Survey

I hope everyone has had a blessed week. I know I have. The boys and I have another hunting excursion planned for tomorrow. Maybe we will have another adventure that I can write about.

This weekend’s question is: What have you been reading lately and what has it taught you?

My answer: Courageous Leadership by Bill Hybels. I am not particularly a big fan of Hybels, but this is an outstanding and helpful book. He models a pattern of transparency and dependency on God to accomplish what God has laid before him. I recommend this book.

God bless.

7 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. I recently read “Chazown” by Craig Groeschel. Nothing really new in it, but he has a way of “packaging” everything I already knew (and knew I should be putting in to practice) and making it brand-new fresh. It was one of many things lately that brought to light my spiritual responsibility to guard my health for the well being of both my family and His ministry.

    I’m also taking a look at David Crowder and Mike Hogan’s “Everybody Want to Go to Heaven but Nobody Wants to Die.” I’m a huge Crowder fan, and not only for his music. He’s just so down to earth quirky.

  2. I’m reading Scot McKnight’s Embracing Grace. It’s pretty good. His thoughts about sin as being primarily a relational problem, and not just a legal problem challenged me.

  3. right now I’m reading PRAYER DOES IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE by Philip Yancey, I’m on the 6th chapter, I have had a lot of Q? about prayer, one day when i was at the book store, I saw this book. and Mr Yancy explores some of the Q?s that i have, like why pray? because Jesus did. I like the way he wrote this book, he don’t know alL the answers to the Q?s people ask him, he’s writing as a fellow pilgrim, in this mysterious,

  4. Heaven by Randy Alcorn. I am learning how our perceptions of Heaven and our eternal life can be so “off!” My eyes are being opened..

  5. C. Gordon Olson ‘What in the World is God doing?’

    I am learning loads of stuff about world mission.

  6. Thanks, everyone, for your participation and good suggestions. I will have to check out some of these good reads.

  7. I’m reading or re-reading Hinds Feet on High Places by Hanna Hurnard. It is so where I am right now…the Lord is certainly using it, if for nothing else but to assure me that otheres go through what I am going through and that He does have a plan..I can trust Him completely.

Leave a Reply

