Responding To the Light

If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us. I John 1:8-10.

When I was a boy, I was at the home of a friend’s grandmother. My friend and I along with some others thought it would be fun to play hide-and-seek outside in the dark. Everything was going along just fine until I started running across the yard. The lady who owned the house had taken a cast-iron washpot, filled it with dirt, and was using it for a planter. Needless to say, I found it in the darkness, striking it with my shin and doing a somersault in the air before landing. I knew that my leg hurt, but didn’t think much of it since I could still walk on it. It was only when I went back inside that I could see that my pants leg was soaked in blood. The washpot had gashed my leg open and I had to go to the emergency room to get stitches.

One inevitable result of coming out of the darkness into the light is revelation. Often this revelation is positive in that we learn more of the doctrine of Christ. At times, though, the light reveals to us the stains of the transgressions we committed in the darkness.

How do we respond when our fellowship with Christ reveals our sins?

The verses I quoted describe two choices: we can either deny that we have sinned, or we can confess the sin and be cleansed.

Denial has its problems, however, as it causes us to deceive ourselves. We certainly aren’t fooling God when it comes to our sin, but when we try to rationalize, excuse, or otherwise justify our wrongs it only causes us to look foolish.

An additional downside to denial is that it forces us to call God a liar. If it is God who illuminates us and points out our sin, to say that we haven’t sinned is arguing with God and making Him out to be deceitful. We certainly aren’t standing on the foundation of the Word of God when we argue from this position.

Honest and full confession is the only way to find cleansing from sin. Confession is simply to call sin what God calls it. When we confess in this way, there are no excuses or mitigating circumstances. In the words of David, “Against thee, thee only have I sinned and done this evil in thy sight.”

We will find that God gives us full cleansing in response to our confession. Not only does He remove the stain of our sin, He also removes the cause of the offense, causing the fellowship which was hindered to be restored.

How will you respond when God turns on the light?

14 responses to “Responding To the Light

  1. Good post and good encouragement to turn to Him and keep on turning even when it gets uncomfortable. I’m enjoying your thoughts on light… I myself am working through some thoughts on fire and water….

  2. that is a good Q? Gordon

    and post, bet you are a blessing to the people, in church!

    so what do I do when God turns on the light, I tryed to hide!

    but you know that don’t work

    so I go to him , because I know he love me and for forgave me,
    and won’t put me down,

  3. To see ourselves as God sees us (as much as is possible for us mortals)is the height of growth as a Christian. We are sinners in need of forgiveness daily. Thank God the cross of Jesus covers it all!

  4. I find that during praise and worship sometimes God sheds light on me and helps me to see my sin for what it really is. There’s something about being in the presence of the Almighty that makes me forget the ways of thinking of the world and just see my sin through His eyes.

    Great post!

  5. To deny is to call God a liar.

    That’s a great thought. Well said!

  6. Thanks everyone. It’s always great to hear from all of you.

  7. Gordon,
    So true. It is great to know of God’s great forgiveness.
    God bless you

  8. Gordon,
    You have a beautiful blog!
    I have a new discussion forum here…
    http://z6.invisionfree.com/denominations
    Please know that you are welcome anytime to register and post.
    God bless you!

    Wren

  9. This was fantastic!

    Gordon, I am going to read this to close out a devotional I am doing at an up-coming men’s retreat. The whole retreat is about being open with God and one another in order to be freed up from whatever shackles us. This is perfect to end on.

    PS(I posted about this on my site. Hopefully lots of people will read this.)

  10. TA, thanks as always.

    Welcome, Wren, I checked out your forum, it looks interesting.

    DK, thanks, my friend, I hope it will be a blessing.

  11. Great Post:-)

    Have a good week ahead!

  12. It’s always a humbling experience!

  13. Insightful and thought-provoking. And very convicting. All things a good post should be.

Leave a Reply

