What’s In a Name?

Barb, at Chelsea Morning, has come up with a great idea for people to promote their blogs and meet other bloggers.

She is suggesting that each blogger write a post on how we came up with the name of our blog, and then go to her blog and leave a link to it.

“Heavenly Heartburn” is inspired by the story in Luke 24 of Jesus and the two disciples walking on the road to Emmaus. As they walked, Jesus taught them the words of truth. After He left, they stated that their hearts burned within them as He taught them.

It is my hope and prayer that those who visit this blog will be encouraged to walk more closely to the Savior, increase their passion for Him and His truth, and thus develop a case of Heavenly Heartburn.

8 responses to “What’s In a Name?

  1. Thanks for that explanation. When I first started reading your blog, I did wonder about the meaning of the name.

  2. Very cool name, I like it.

  3. When I first arrived here, having never seen your blog at all, I would never have guessed how you came up with it. What a great “story behind the name.”

    “Heavenly Heartburn” conjures up all sorts of guesses as to where the name came from, especially from someone like me who takes Prilosec every day. 🙂

    I like your explanation a LOT better. And thank you so much for participating in this.

  4. I’m so glad that Barb has done this! I found your blog! I’m adding you to my favorites–I’ll be back!

    Diane

  5. What a great name Gordon!

  6. I love the road to Emmaus story. May our hearts continually burn within us as He speaks to us.
    As for Danny Funderburk…he sang at a little Baptist church near to where I live. I remembered his name and my mom loves Southern Gospel music so I took her. Danny was fabulous! of course. I grew up on gospel but was surprised to find that i still knew almost every song. Weird since I haven’t actively listened or performed it in at least 20 yrs. Harold McHorter(sp?) was also there. he writes gospel and he and Danny did one together that you probalby know, which Harold wrote and the Cathedrals sang…”Sin will take you farther” It was a lovely evening. Danny has a fire in his bones which is always refreshing to see. 🙂

  7. Thanks, everyone, for your thoughts.

    JG, when I was a teenager, I listened to the Cathedral Quartet constantly. I loved those guys then and still do. I do indeed remember the song, “Sin Will Take You Farther”.

  8. Since I experience frequent heartburn of the worst kind, I had wondered what your blog name meant. What a beautiful explanation. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

