What Do You Have To Say?

So many times I hear people say, “I would love to witness to someone about Christ, if only I knew what to say”. They have the idea that only a preacher or someone with a significant amount of biblical training is qualified to tell others the Gospel.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked upon, and our hands have handled, of the Word of life;…declare we unto you. I John 1:1-3a

The Apostle John had heard much of the teaching of Christ. He had been an eyewitness to many of Christ’s miracles. He had both watched and carefully analyzed the works of the Savior. In short, HE HAD EXPERIENCED LIFE WITH CHRIST.

In essence, what John is saying here as a testimony to the reality of Christ is, “I know Christ personally, let me tell you what I have learned about Him.”

What better testimony is there than that?

No, we don’t have the luxury of physically walking and talking with Jesus as did John. But we do have the Holy Spirit to guide us through the truth of God’s Word. We can hear from Him as directly through this source as if He were sitting right next to us.

We can certainly bear witness to the saving power of His grace. We can share with others how salvation is transforming our lives. Do you realize that there are others who have walked the same path in life as you? There are people in your community who are living in despair because of their circumstances, your testimony to grace can be a ray of hope that can lead them faith.

You don’t have to have a doctorate of theology to be a witness, you only have to know what Jesus has done for you.

What do you have to say?

20 responses to “What Do You Have To Say?

  1. Amen and Amen!

    Doug

  2. hey Gordon! Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve made my “rounds” Glad to be back! 🙂

    This is a great post…as the Natalie Grant song goes in What Are You Waiting For…

    so you wanna change the world
    what are you waiting for
    you say you’re gonna start right now
    what are you waiting for
    it only takes one voice
    so come on now and shout it out
    give a little more
    what are you waiting for

    someday somehow
    gonna take that step
    cause time is ticking away

    right here right now
    before it’s too late
    gonna face tomorrow today

    I’ve had to learn that I’ve got to step out that and do it instead of waiting around, wondering how to do, what to do, and the like. I’ve got to just go for it, sometimes!

  3. Doug, good to see you, brother.

    Megan, good to see you too, thanks for sharing the words to that song, they are really on point.

  4. Great post Gordon!

    a few weeks ago I let things get to me , was feeling sorry for myself, and making others feel bad because of it!
    but with help from some good friends, and taking my eyes off myself, and on too other people, I saw that they were going though the same thing , or even worst

    when you get out of yourself , and start looking out to help others
    the hope and joy will be there

    I hope this is makeing sense, I know what I want to say, but putting it in to words, to where others can understand it is hard!
    well anyway thanks Gordon for letting me take space up here!

    take care

  5. JEL you expresed feelings of most people well , but in my life every morning I wake up I TALK TO GOD and thank him for all the many blessings and ask him to lead and guide me that day ! If you just be still and soon you will know that HE is with you in every thing that you do that day ! Every wednesday I visit the discount bread store and I find many senior citizens that are just trying to survive life itself. What I am trying to say is that GOD will give you the words to say in your heart that will lift up his people and put a smile on thier face ! They look forward to each week as well as myself ! I am disability retired and can,t get around that good but I have learned that if you take GODS blessings and turn them into your happiness then its easier to share with others about GODS word ! I will say that it took years for me to learn ! Bro. Gordon I hope I haven,t taken up to much space but I could write a whole big page on what GOD has done for me and I,m very grateful ! Have a blessed day to all . RON.

  6. Great thoughts. We all have a story to tell, and no one can tell it like we can.

  7. Great encouragement brother! We, as Christians, really do have treasure in earthen vessels…All we need do is spill him out on those around us.

  8. Janice, thanks for sharing. I hope this encourages you in some way.

    Bro. Ron, I’m glad that you aren’t afraid to talk about the Lord.

    Bobby, Thanks for stopping by. It’s always good to hear from you.

  9. JG, didn’t mean to overlook you. We must have posted on top of each other. That’s a great analogy you gave.

  10. It wasn’t a preacher who reached out to me 19 years ago. And it wasn’t a preacher who taught me the Scriptures. They were just average folks who loved God, knew the way to salvation, and had the heart to tell others about it.

    I’ll never forget the first time I went out to share my faith as a baby Christian. An older brother took me out with him. We were out there for a while and he did all the talking. Then he finally said, “Go share with that guy.”
    I tell you the truth. My every muscle in my body froze up and all I said was, “No. He’s bigger than me.” (If I had continued to let that be my guideline for who I shared with, I would never share with anyone! I was only 145 pounds back then!)

    I had no idea I was such a coward. As a non-Christian, I was the type who told folks just what I thought of them if they ticked me off. But here I was, in possession of the greatest gift given to man. And I couldn’t tell someone about it!

    I wish I could say that was the only time I let cowardice creep in and stymie the Holy Spirit. But nope.

    Eventually, I got to the point where I shared my faith daily with many people a day. It became a part of my daily life.

    But it has been a while.

    Our minister just gave a group of us some homework. He said to study out what the Bible teaches about sharing the gospel with people…and then live out what we learned. (Yeah…in other words…be a disciple of Jesus.)

    I don’t know why. But for some reason I have procrastinated that study.
    Any insight as to why that might be, Mr. Cloud? ;-0

    Here is just a bit of related good news…

  11. VEry much some ! 🙂

    and thank you too! RBJ

  12. Danny I would like to say that I enjoyed your link that you had on your blog . that is a good example of GODS GRACE that he shared thru you if you submit to his word !A quote I read said [ I asked GOD to make my spirit grow and GOD said no you will have to grow on your own but I will prune you to make you fruitful ]! Just be patient? Patience is learned by tribulations so the more you practice the BIBLE STUDY scriptures the more GOD will show you how to be fruitfull in your efforts ! I hope this will help answer your question to Bro. Gordon . I was going to comment on your blog but for some reason blogger was not kind to me ? BLESSINGS TO YOU ! RON .

  13. Lately it seems I have been telling others (mostly on-line)about me relationship with Christ. I have never been one to talk to others about my personal realtionship with God so this is very odd behavior for me I am ashamed to say. Thanks for the reminder and the nudge to witness!

  14. “To those who are given much, much is expected.”

    Christ gave us the free gift of salvation. We need to share it, no matter how hard it seems to be.

    There are always new and creative ways to share the Gospel. We should endeavor to perservere!

  15. Gordon, thanks for these thoughts. One of my Sunday “aggravations” that seem to be occurring more often recently is when somebody in my Sunday School class – the hard-to-get-involved just married crowd – makes the statement that they don’t think their testimony is good enough or they don’t really know what to say. I think their fear is anytime they open up to share Christ, the person they’re sharing with is going to be mister or misses atheist/darwinist/anti-christian. I don’t think I could say it any better than you already have – You don’t have to have a doctorate of theology to be a witness, you only have to know what Jesus has done for you.

  16. Danny, the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.

    Janice, glad it is helping.

    Bro. Ron, thanks for your thoughts.

    Kelly, good to see you.

    Bonnie, that’s a great verse you shared.

    Misawa, thanks for stopping by. You brought up a good point about those who think their testimony isn’t “good enough”. It seems that some people have the idea that they have to waste their life in drugs, alcohol or gangs before they get saved in order to have a testimony that is effective. That just simply isn’t true. A person who is raised in church and in a Christian home as I was needs Christ just as badly as the biggest dope addict in the country.

  17. So true, Gordon! Glad to see this emphasis. The Lord has blessed me with some excellent training in sharing my testimony and sharing the gospel with others, so now it’s up to me to be faithful with it! Thanks

  18. Barry Beauchamp

    Hey Gordon,

    Thanks for the mention of your visit from vacation. It’s always a little encouraging and a little scary to find your name written on the internet walls.

    I have a “sugar-stick” sermon that goes back to seminary on this passage that I’ll share some pertinent points from …

    When we think of witnessing as less an activity for the Christian Commando Elite, and more in terms of the required testimony of those who appear in court; it becomes less frightening. The court we appear in daily is the court of others’ opinions, and Christians speak on behalf of Christ — even our refusal to speak has a bearing on the courts’ decisions.

    We’re familiar with a “star” witness offering the testimony that seals the deal in a court case. This is the kind of witnessing that brings others to decisions to accept Christ or not.

    But John also wrote that his testimony was for the development of fellowship, recognizing our need not simply to make a decision, but to live following Christ with other believers. In our legal system, “expert” witnesses appear in court regularly to hold forth in many areas of expertise. To establish that expertise, counsels will go through voir dire questioning and testimony. This testimony establishes the witness is who he/she claims to be. Similarly, the Church ought to continually testify to the world AND to one another of our experience with Christ to affirm our identity and expertise as those who walk with Christ.

    John also said his testimony was to complete the joy of his hearers. In our legal system, attorneys will bring a parade of witnesses, depositions, affidavits, and exhibits to confirm the same facts. This is why real life court is a lot less fascinating than “Law & Order.” For the Christian witness, there is also a place for this corroborating testimony. If we continually hear the truth from multiple sources, we are more likely to believe. Even after we believe, this multiplicity of sources fleshes out what is common in the experience of living for Christ. Oh yeah, and it makes our joy perfect, or complete.

    Blessings to you and your family!

  19. Barry, good to hear from you, brother. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really like the point about those “appearing in court”.

    This post was the first of series I will be doing through I John and you are absolutely right about the fellowship aspect of it.

  20. Connecting with people at a heart level is the only way to witness to our Lord’s grace and mercy. Unfortunately, heart connections require a level of vulnerability and transparency that most are not comfortable with. It is much easier to connect with your head … talk superficially and never share your heart … your disappointments … your surprises … Christ’s peace. Instead of setting a witnessing goal maybe we should be setting encouragement goals. People are beat down and need to be encouraged … encouragement will open a door for witnessing.–>

Leave a Reply

