Back in the Saddle

Thanks so much to all who participated in the Weekend Survey while I was away. My family and I had a great vacation in Florida, visiting some of my wife’s family and she and I had a little getaway to St. Augustine for four days.

We ate well, relaxed, got a little sun and generally had a great time. It suddenly occurred to me on the way home yesterday, that since the previous Sunday night until that time, I had worn socks for a grand total of 1 1/2 hours (to church on Sunday morning). This is very unusual for me and now I have a nice criss-cross suntan on the tops of my feet where the sun shone through the webbing of my sandals.

It was nice to see Amy’s family and celebrate Clay’s 10th birthday with them. We went to church with them Sunday and my friend Barry Beauchamp preached an inspiring message.

I plan to resume regular posting now that the busy part of the summer is over. I want you, my readers, to know just how much of a blessing and an encouragement all of you are to me. Making so many “on-line” friends has definitely made blogging worthwhile.

10 responses to “Back in the Saddle

  1. Hi Gordon. Glad you had a good vacation. It’s always nice to get away and spend time with family.

  2. Welcome back. Just please assure us, your loyal readers, that you will NOT change the title of your blog to Sockless Sunburn.

  3. KRISTI!!! Great to hear from you. Long time no see. How are things in the wild, wild west?

    Cameron, the thought had never occurred to me, but now that you mention it…

  4. Welcome Back!
    Glad you had a good time with your family. I really like your blog, your profile image is really cool & so’s your layout! :o)

  5. It is good to see you back. I’m glad you had a good time away. St. Augustine is a wonderful place to visit.

  6. Welcome back Gordon!
    glad you had a good time, and that you had a safe trip back! 🙂

  7. Welcome back, Gordon!

    St. Augustine, eh?
    My wife is from Florida and she showed me St. A. on our drive back the NH the last time we went.
    I have never seen such a beautiful city! The Spanish “feel” was amazing. I just wish I had time to stop and break out my camera. Talk about a photographer-wannabe’s playhouse!

    Can’t wait to go back in ’07 and make it a point to actually stop in the city, itself!

  8. Good to have you and the family back. Especially the Grandsons!!!
    I am glad you had such a great time while the rest of us labored faithfully for our Lord.
    I am sure this statement will not trouble you.
    Dad

  9. Thanks everyone, it’s good to “see” all of you again.

    Daddy, it doesn’t trouble me in the least. (How are you enjoying retirement?)

  10. Love the feel of your blog. Soothing. Funny about the suntan. Welcome back in the saddle. Good to hear there were no vacation snafus.

Leave a Reply

