The Lonely Seed

Have you ever considered the purpose of seed? While it may have many uses ranging from feeding birds to decorations, it has but one purpose.

Jesus said in John 12:24, Verily, verily I say unto you, except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.

A seed has no will of its own, but is at the mercy of the one who is holding it. The planter can place the seed wherever he sees fit to do so. The seed will be planted in a place that is foreign to it and will be buried to die. As it dies, there is something released inside it that brings forth new life and the production of much fruit. The seed does not have to work to produce the fruit, but the fruit is result of the death of the seed.

Picture yourself as a seed in the Kingdom of God. God has ordained that we are to produce much fruit. You cannot produce this fruit in the strength of your own flesh. Instead, we must be willing to die to our selfish desires, deny our own will and submit ourselves wholly to God. As we do so, we will see something marvelous occuring. God will begin to produce fruit through us.

One thing I am learning is that the things that God expects of me are the things that He wants to do through me. This can only happen when I yield to Him and let Him “plant” me where He will.

I must be willing to accept His will as my own.

Otherwise, I will only be a lonely seed.

7 responses to “The Lonely Seed

  1. Gordon,

    That passage has always intrigued me. the idea that a seed has to die. I had never really thought about it before reading that verse some years ago.

    As you said, the seed must die so that what is on the inside can grow and flourish.

    But as always, when we look at it from God’s perspective, it’s really not death, but the shedding of the outer shell that is already dead anyway. The flesh has to split apart and sluff off so that the Spirit inside us can be released, giving food, shelter, shade, and beauty to all around.

    Good thoughts. Glad to see you back to posting some more.

  2. Good thoughts Jeff. Always glad to have your input. Hope y’all get some rain out there in Texas, we need some here very badly.

  3. what a great analogy.

    MDM

  4. Great lesson Preacher. 😉

  5. what a powerful thought! Definitely something to think on!

    Thanks so much for stopping in…I could’ve done without the warning that time flies quicker when you hit 20 though! LOL

    And I agree with Jeff, it’s great to see you posting more! 🙂

  6. One thing I am learning is that the things that God expects of me are the things that He wants to do through me. This can only happen when I yield to Him and let Him “plant” me where He will.

    Very well said and I feel this to be true as well.
    Thanks for your blog visit. I did find someone to mentor that person – 🙂

  7. Gordon,
    Great article. Somewhere I heard the phrase, “Bloom where you’re planted”. I like that phrase, and have used it often.
    Thanks for the good words.

Leave a Reply

