Weekend Survey

It seems to have been a very busy summer for most everyone on the blogosphere thus far. Why not tell us what has been going on in your neck of the woods?

Mine has been Vacation Bible School, committee meetings, funerals, weddings (one at which I called the groom by the wrong name, OUCH!), putting up fresh veggies, and trying to make sure I keep enough time for sermon preparation and family. I plan to take a vacation in a couple of weeks before the fall blitz hits.

For the person who can convince me they are the busiest, I will give a special recognition.

Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend.

13 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. Gordan,

    Yes indeed it has been busy. I thought Summer was suppossed to have some down time.

    We’ve been very busy with our VBS as well (last week). I saw my wife and seven others off to Belarus last week, and they have just passed the halfway point. It’s been pretty hectic having the household and kids to myself.

    I’ve also purchased a new guitar, and my practicing bug has taken new hold. I’ve spent hours and hours practicing until my fingers just can’t take it anymore.

    I’m also in the midst of a church website redesign which I hope to debut late Summer/early Fall.

    I’m home today and may do some yard work. We finally got some rain here in North Texas, so I’ve got unwanted things growing in my flower/plant beds.

  2. My summer is chock full of great things.
    2 separate Camping trips (as you already know),

    Storyland amusement park (for the kids, of course),

    Davis’s Farmland (again, for the kids),

    a Men’s Retreat,

    a 3 day Christian Conference,

    studying the Bible with a guy who wants to become a Christian,

    Birthday party for my pretty little girl,

    Trying to get ready to teach some classes on church history in the fall. (since I know nothing about church history, I have a lot of ground to make up),

    And it seems, lately, that everybody and his brother wants to get together with me to talk about something I did or said that offended them or came across wierd. I call them “unity Talks.” Boy, they can sure take some time.

    Anyway, that’s all I am up to. I hope it’s as fun and spiritual as it can be.

  3. My summer has been very busy with my role as music director (and sometimes actor) at Blowing Rock Stage Company here in western NC. It’s a fun job, but can be stressful at times. Basically, we put a show on its feet from the ground up in 12 days. Then we do 7 shows a week (in 6 days) for about 2 1/2 weeks, take a few days off, and start all over again with the next show!

    On my days off, I spend my time accompanying some students at Appalachian State who are studying voice over the summer.

    I’m looking forward to the first week in August where I’ll actually have a week off and can get out of town with my wife and son.

    Oh, and tomorrow (Saturday), we have a big party to celebrate my adoption of my son (he was my stepson). Lots of fun stuff.

    steve 🙂

  4. nqwjLet’s see…summer so far….

    Last Wednesday our area experienced the worst flooding in the recorded history of our county.

    If you go back to last week on my blog there are a lot of pictures.

    I couldn’t get into the town of Conklin where my business is located for four days…the water had to recede first.

    My store basement had five feet of water. Too many friends to count lost most if not all they owned.

    I have been…

    squeegying mud,
    ripping off wet siding,
    hauling soggy garbage,
    retrieving possessions from trees,
    delivering food, water and cleaning supplies,
    pumping out water,

    I drew the line at helping to cut up dead cows with a chainsaw…Yuck!

    And tomorrow after church we are going over to Conklin to join with another church to help more people clean.

    I’m getting muscles in places that I didn’t know I had…LOL…and I’m turning into someone you wouldn’t want to meet in a dark alley…Bwaaa hah hah!

    My store itself is fine. The basement is drying out, electricity is back on, phone will be another week or so…and I can go back to work on Monday!

  5. I bet I am the least busiest. I am enjoying leisure…catching up with friends, spending time with family, and staying home for pyjama days drinking hot chocolate. I don’t want to be busy. In fact, I’m avoiding it. But it’s not summer here so perhaps that accounts for the difference.

  6. Gordon,
    You really have a beautifully designed site!

    We felines get a lot of rest and it is rubbing off on my human staff as they are really taking a lot of catnaps.

    Jazzycat

  7. I have 4 boys all under the age of 4. While that should be enough I also work full time and go to school full time.

  8. summer here is over. hmm… let’s see… i’m busy preparing for the business we’re starting soon and yeah, all my check ups are eating most of my time and my job of course! 🙂

  9. Thanks all for participating.

    I think the special recognition goes to Bonnie. Having done some flood cleanup myself, I know that she is busy.

    Honorable mention goes to Jonathan Moorehead. Having four kids under the age of four will keep you busy even in your dreams.

  10. Gordan,

    I am feeling the pressure of the busy life myself!

    My summer has consisted of:

    1. Mission Trip
    2. Summer Class (1)
    3. Weekly Preaching (3 services)
    4. Sunday School Class (youth)
    5. July 4th Cook-out (25 people at my house)
    6. Visitation Blitz in Community
    7. Summer Class (2)
    8. V.B.S. – Next Week. I will be teaching the youth all 5 days.
    9. One Day Revival July 23rd
    10. Must read 6 books by the end of summer for classes.
    11. Keep my grass cut each week – 7 acres (usually 5 hours on tractor).
    12. Run the P.T.D. blog
    12. I am sure there is much more….I am very busy!

    All for the glory of God!

    Rev. Josh Buice
    Practical Theology Discussions
    http://www.joshbuice.blogspot.com

  11. thanks Gordon…but the work is not done! My church joined with the church in the affected area and we will be at this cleanup for many months to come.

    Since my business is in the affected town, it does my heart good to be able to give back to the people who have been my cutsomers for 20 years!

  12. we’re missing your posts, but hope you’re getting a chance to take some relaxing time away!

    blessings!
    lisa

  13. Thanks, everyone, for your participation and comments.

Leave a Reply

