Americana

My family and I had a wonderful day yesterday. To celebrate the Fourth of July, we first went to my Mom’s house for lunch. Several relatives and friends gathered there for a fine meal of pork barbecue, ribs, baked beans, potato salad and Brunswick stew. We ate until we couldn’t hold another bite then waddled into the living room to watch the launch of the space shuttle.

Later that afternoon, my boys went over to my mom’s neighbor’s house and went swimming with her grandchildren. They had such a great time. When they came back, we had boiled peanuts and watermelon. It was great.

After that I took my boys out to my grandma’s farm because they wanted to do some target shooting with their .22 rifles. They raised watermelons on the farm this year and their were quite a few rotten ones laying around that made great targets. Have you ever seen what kind of effect a hollow-point slug has on a watermelon that has been baking in 100 degree heat all day? The results are really quite spectacular.

Last night we went to Faceville, GA, for fireworks. You probably have never heard of this place, it actually makes Mayberry look like a big city, but there are some good folks there. In the fellowship hall of the Baptist church, they were serving fried chicken dinners. The chicken looked wonderful but we were too full of peanuts, watermelon and ribs to even think about eating, so we just got a big ol’ glass of ice tea and went outside to watch the fireworks. There was maybe 100 or so people there and we sat around the bleachers of the old sandlot while the fire department shot the fireworks from foul territory in left field. Before the show started, a little nine-year-old girl sang the hound out of the national anthem over the loudspeaker on the firetruck. As soon as she finished, there were four Civil War re-enactors there who thought it would be funny to sneak up behind everyone and fire their muskets. After everyone got over that, the fireworks began. Because of the small area, the fireworks were literally exploding directly overhead. The crowd would clap, whistle and cheer after every shot. It wasn’t the biggest fireworks display I have ever seen, but I don’t think I have ever enjoyed one any more than I did that one.

We went back to grandma’s where my dad fired off some bottle rockets he had bought for the boys. After my grandma loaded us down with tomatoes and a watermelon, we left and went home.

It was a great day and one that made me very thankful to be an American.

14 responses to “Americana

  1. Now that sounds like a good time. (Except for them boiled peanuts. My wife loves them, too. I don’t know what it is about you Southerners and your boiled peanuts.) I probably would have force the fried chicken down, though, no matter how full I was.

    God Bless America.

    (And Ethiopia, and Iceland, too.) πŸ˜‰

  2. Gordon, It was good to hear from you.
    I understand the being busy part. Sounds like you had a busy and a great fourth of July celebration. My family and I did as well.

  3. Danny, I worry over the spiritual condition of anyone who doesn’t like boiled peanuts. πŸ™‚

  4. “Sang the hound” out of it? boy, you are Southern…or country or sumpin’…lol
    Sounds like a wonderful day!
    Proud to be an American!

  5. “Sang the hound” out of it? boy, you are Southern…or country or sumpin’…lol
    Sounds like a wonderful day!
    Proud to be an American!

  6. Now the Fourth was a good day. I just worry about someone who doesn’t like boiled peanuts. But there is hope for them for as you know someone very close to us finally learned to eat GRITS! That is in the plural. One Northerner after asking the waitress what Grits were, said, “I believe I will have one of them.” Oh well!
    So long, Daddy

  7. Sounds like a good old typical fourth of july celebration down in good old state of South Georgia . Watermellon and the good barbecue with the sliced maters and top it off with boiled peanuts what else could a man ask for ? Bro. Ken I cain;t belive a man would ruin a good breakfast without GRITS . I once had the priveledge of spending serveral days in lower PA. and the cream of wheat with syrup on it just didn;t agree with me ? RON.

  8. Watermelon fireworks could become a new 4th July tradition. They sound spectacular.

    Glad you had such a great day with your family.

  9. This post has been removed by the author.

  10. sounds fun! oh, i love boiled peanuts. i wonder if you prepare it the same way we do here? hmmm… πŸ™‚

  11. Pia, I boil mine in water and add a good amount of salt. I keep boiling them until they are tender. How do you do it?

  12. Wow! What a great sounding 4th! I’ll have to live vicariously thru you this year. No one here was in the mood to celebrate!

  13. “Danny, I worry over the spiritual condition of anyone who doesn’t like boiled peanuts. πŸ™‚

    Don’t worry, Gordon. I am covered by the spirituallity of my Southern wife. After all, doesn’t scripture teach that:

    For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife…
    1 Cor. 7:14

    Any true student of the Bible knows that the Greek for “unbelieving” is really translated to “Hater of the boiled peanut.” But then, I am confident you already knew that.

  14. I love your exegesis, Danny. That’s pretty good. Thanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

