Weekend Survey–Father’s Day

I really must apologize for my lack of posts lately. We have just been really busy with Vacation Bible School and a few other things. While it has been very hectic, God has also been blessing very greatly. I will give a full report on Monday.

With this weekend being Father’s Day, why not share with us what is special to you about your dad?

My dad has really been a blessed influence in my life. Growing up as a preacher’s kid, I got to see what he was like when no one else was around. He set a wonderful example of integrity and faithfulness to the ministry. This may sound strange to some, but speaking as a PK who grew up to enter the ministry myself, I am very thankful that I never saw my dad do anything that turned me against the ministry.

He is still a blessing to me now. Love ya’ Daddy.

12 responses to “Weekend Survey–Father’s Day

  1. This may start out sounding like a dad bashing but hold on…
    My dad is bi-polar, manic depressed and an alcoholic. And probably because of this he reads the bible everyday and tells everyone he knows about his stormy relationship with Christ. He is a little nuts and probably alot of people don’t listen to half of what he says but I know his heart is in the right place and I got my love of God and my fear of God from him.

  2. what is special to me(anyway) about my dad was that a month before he died he got saved!

    and when I was a kid he would take me fishing! 🙂

    hi gordon!

  3. Nice to hear from you again. I thought maybe you had gone to the Southern Baptist meetings.

    My daddy was so special. He was a very quite, unassuming man, and he worshipped the ground I walked on, and vice versa.

    He died when I was 22, over 43 years ago, and I still miss him. I wish that my children could have known him as their granddaddy.

  4. Gordon,
    My Dad was not a Christian until shortly after he and my mother married. He was and is a farmer. He was gloriously saved as a young married man.
    He was ordained as a deacon, and is still one in the church I grew up in.
    I am very thankful for thelegacy of my Dad. I surrendered to preach the gospel due to his faithfulness. our oldest son has surrendered to preach the gospel, as well as our two youngest. My nephew, my sisters son is now pastoring a church in Kansas, and she is married to a pastor, who himself is the son of a pastor.
    My Dad has left quite a legacy for the glory of the Lord.

  5. Preacher I’m persuaded that your own will have a similar testimony one day. 😉

    May God bless you all.

  6. I am very thankful for my DAD and the forty years that I was able to enjoy being with him and all the fly fishing adventures on the CHATAHOOCHE RIVER that joins lake seminole . I still think of him when I see his retired fly fishing rod on my living room wall! I know he,s looking down and still watching over my family and I,M enjoying every day that GOD gives me in anticipation of that glorious reunion day ! TOO ALL OF THE FATHERS THAT ARE STILL WITH US LOVE YOUR FAMILYS EVERYDAY LIKE THIS IS YOUR LAST ? MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALL! L.O.L RON .

  7. TA- THANKS FOR THE BEAUTIFUL LEGACY OF YOUR DAD AND FAMILY AND I,M EQUALLY PROUD OF THE CLOUD FAMILY LEGACY ALSO ! GOD BLESS ! RON.

  8. I’ve missed my dad a lot recently. He died way too young…59 years. He was an alcoholic and he was largely unavailable to me. BUT….

    I’ll never forget what he taught me about fishing, hunting, and the secret to great barbecue (btw…I’m not telling!). I learned as much from his shortcomings as from his strengths.

    Makes me wonder what my kids will write on Gordon’s kids’ blog someday about their dad! I pray that it’s favorable.

  9. Bro. Gordon I HOPE YOU DON;T MIND IF I BORROW YOUR BLOGSPOT TO COMMENT AGAIN! I WANTED TO SHARE THIS BEAUTIFULL EMAIL URL at http://parentswish.com .IF ANY OF THE READERS OF THIS BLOGSPOT HASN;T RECIEVED THIS EMAIL I URGE YOU TO VIEW IT . TO ALL OF OUR FATHERS I WISH YOU A VERY BLESSED AND WONDERFULL FATHERS DAY ? LOL. RON.

  10. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to share! 🙂 I entered my Dad in a Father of the Year contest on a radio station, and he won (for the entire story – which turned out a bit humerous – check my blog)! So, I though I’d share what I wrote…


    My first and one of the purest memories of my Dad is when I was 2 and in the hospital and having to stay in a “tent.” My parents didn’t have much and had another baby, my little sister, who had to stay with my grandparents. But I remember my Dad would work so incredibly hard at his job, then he’d drop by the dollar store get me a few toys to make my stay a little nicer – then he’d take the time to play with me! I get tears in my eyes thinking about how giving and selfless my Dad was during that period of time. My Dad has proven to be a man just like that over the years, hard-working, selfless, honorable, honest, and always thinking of others. He lost his father to cancer in March, and I’d love for him to be able to get away and have something to distract him as the only way we can get him to relax and really take a breather is to get him away from everything!

  11. A little late to join the party, but I am thankful for my Dad. The greatest gift he has given me is the example of his passion for God. The best thing I can say about him is that he is real. Living for and serving God is not something he does, it’s who he is.

  12. I enjoyed reading your story. Please join our minister’s kid community at http://www.ministerskid.com!
    Thanks,

    Walter

Leave a Reply

