Country Living

I live in the country. Have I mentioned that? No offense to anyone who is confined to an urban area, but I would rather live in the country than anywhere else. Recently, I have been trying to count my blessings. I think it is good to do that from time to time. Let me share with you some things that bless me about where I live.

Fresh vegetables in the garden

Wonderful view of the heavens on a clear night

Frogs singing in the pond on the other side of the pasture

Cows in the pasture (yes I like to watch cows)

The huge live oak and pecan trees in my yard

Friendly neighbors

Fishing

Blueberries

Blackberries

Huckleberries (I like berries, too)

Blooming daylillies

Crepe myrtle trees

The smell of a freshly cut lawn

Fresh air

Elbow room

These are just a few of the things that make where I live a wonderful place. I am blessed and I am so thankful for it.

20 responses to “Country Living

  1. Good morning Bro. Gordon you did a very good job listing the luxurys of country living but you forgot the pretty little hummingbirds that feed busily while you sit on front porch taking in all of GODS beautiful creation and taking time to thank him for our blessings . I enjoy picking a couple of apples off the tree and cutting them into quarters and throwing them into yard and watching the mockingbirds- redbirds-bluebirds-canarys-cardinals- feed off of them ! It amuses me to watch the mockingbirds try to be in charge of apples . I feed them about 30 minutes before dark every day ! They are usually waiting patiently? IT IS AMAZING HOW GREAT GODS WORK IS IN CREATING SUCH BEAUTY! ENJOY EVERY DAY AND GIVE THANKS ! RON.

  2. The countryside, especially in the deep south is very wonderful..I love the smell of freshly cut grass…the starry nights, and the hummies are exquisite…love the fresh veggies from the garden..yumm! you do like those berries doncha? ๐Ÿ™‚ I miss the country…sometimes…but not always…:) counting my blesings, for me includes being thankful for the big city…and the convenience of things….a big airport and bustling city that makes my husband’s life easier and easy access to my family in AL…(in the country…haha) The best of both worlds??
    Its good to be reminded to be thankful…seems to be a lost commodity in our culture..

  3. Gordon,
    You sure can list the enjoyments of country living. You cannot begin to list them all.
    I grew up in the country. The closest town to do any shopping was about 12 miles away, and the largest city was 55 miles from us.
    Where I lived when I was a boy you could set on the front porch and see traffic on the hill about 2 miles away. You could see it and not hear it.
    I am thankful for that life. I live in the country now, but along a busy highway. Boy is it noisy. But I am thankful for the country life.

  4. I agree with all of these, but I would have to add two more:
    1) Great place to raise kids.
    2) Peace and quiet.

    Now if we can just do something about that “country-fresh” aroma from the chicken houses!

  5. Bro cameron thats the aroma of new money for the farmer and his family [ hogpens – chickenhouses ]. Just trying to give a new perspective on the aromas ? jg where Bro. Gordon and myself live is a good example of GODS COUNTRY ! Good old SOUTH GEORGIA . Have a blessed day ? RON.

  6. WATERMELON!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ One time when I was a girl, we visited my aunt who lived in Jasper, Florida. Before we went home, they loaded the trunk of our car with watermelon. I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

  7. you said it! I LOVE BEING A COUNTRY GIRL ๐Ÿ™‚

    but I can do without the snakes, ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. We’re rural, but not as rural as we would like. My father-in-law has a farm he rents out about 30 minutes from here, and we would love to move out to it someday.

    BUT, I am very thankful for what I have. We are blessed to live up here in the mountains and enjoy some nice beautiful weather. And mountain golf is so much more exciting than flat land golf! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    steve ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sounds like a lot of kindred spirits here. It’s good to hear from everyone.

    Steve, do you have trouble getting the ball to stay still in the fairway when you are playing in the mountains?

  10. Im originally from the country but live in the city to study at the moment.

    What I miss most is the smell just before and just after rain you get in the country, it just smells like ‘fresh’ if you klnow what i am trying to say. Also the stars, I miss the stars.

    MDM

  11. Good summary of living IN God’s creation rather than near it. My wife is a city girl from Tacoma…but I find that God’s design reflected in more rural areas beats any “convenience” of the city.

  12. I love the country life. It’s so peaceful. You don’t have to hussle and bussle as you do in the city. The country is a good place to listen to God. And Enjoy the nature that He created.

  13. Gordon,

    I, too, love living in the country. It’s great to learn that you live in the country, too.

    Now we can both do what that song from the late ’80’s talks about. Remember “Somewhere Out There?”

    “And even though I know how very far apart we are, It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star.”

    “And when the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby, It helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky.”

    I’ve got to stop, I’m getting misty-eyed … but that’s because I have allergies from living in the country!

  14. Oh, and one more thing, Gordon:

    Did God ordain that you would live in the country?

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. I sure hope so, Ken. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I guess I’m a suburban kinda girl. Yes, I like elbow room and small towns, but I also like to be able to run out to the mall or Wal-Mart, and it not take more than 5 or 10 minutes. And I definitely would never want to refer to going to Wal-Mart as “going to town.” Ha ha. I crack up when I hear people from out in the sticks say that… like it’s a special all-day adventure! =)

  17. it is an adventure going to wallyworld (WAl MART)
    the aventure is getting out of there and not getting hit by a car in the parking lot or a cart in the store, ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. It IS an adventure because of the way some of you suburbanites drive. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Gordon,
    You really must be out-standing-in-your-field.

  20. Garry, I do indeed stand out in my field at times. But you have to be careful not to stand in a pasture pie.

Leave a Reply

