Weekend Survey

Tonight is High School Graduation in Cairo, GA. In honor of this auspicious event, I would like to conduct a weekend survey that is somewhat related to it.

Question: Has your life met the expectations you had when you graduated? If so, how? If not, how is it different than you expected it would be?

My answer: My life is sort of what I expected it would be. I had already surrendered my life to God’s call for the ministry, so I knew I would be preaching. I did not expect to be where I am, married to the wonderful woman that I have, or have two amazing sons like I have. I am truly blessed.

Have a blessed weekend.

12 responses to “Weekend Survey

  1. I expected to be dead by 21, instead I was given life at 22. 😉

  2. I had no clue that I would be doing what I am now. God hs certainly proven Himself over and over again. I wasn’t sure What I was going to do after graduation. All I knew was to follow what God tells me to do. He first told me to go into the Air Force which I did for 4 years. Then after taht I met my wife. Went to seminary school. Now I’m an Assoc. Pastor. Never thought it would be. God is so Great.

  3. I am nowhere in life that I thought I would be! It has turned out to be so much better than I ever dreamed. I certainly never expected to be living in a small town in the Blue Ridge mountains doing music for a living.

    I kinda thought I might be doing music for a living, but expected it to be in a big city somewhere.

    I also never dreamed I would have such an awesome and beautiful wife. I am a very blessed man.

    Never in a million years did I think that I would be part of an “alternative” approach to church and ministry, either. Well, actually, that would be “never in 35 years”, but the last two years have been amazingly refreshing for me, too!

    All in all, not at all where I thought I’d be, but better than I ever dreamed, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

    steve 🙂

  4. Since I married my high school girlfriend I kind of expected, planned to still be with her now. BUT the 2 kids and direction of my life at the moment was not considered while in high school.
    The Kids were planned when they arrived though, I just didnt expect to be planning them so young.

    MDM

  5. I gotta admit, my life has surpassed anything I expected by 100 fold.

    I was a failure and a wallflower in school.
    I had no ambition in life through my teen years.
    No one in my family went to college, not did we want to.
    I had every reason to believe that if I ever actually get married, I would have committed adultry within the first year.
    I made a conscious decision to go from straight to being a drug addict. It was no accident, it was what I set out to do. If you lived in Easthampton, MA in the late 80’s, you probably would have tripped over me on the sidewalk. (Yes…literally!)

    Now, I just finished my two year degree with all “A”s minus one which was a “B”. (I hate algebra!)
    I have the most amazing wife in the universe who actually loves me (except the Church, of course.)
    I have 2 great kids who I actually love to be around! As a matter of fact, they are both giving me raspberries (called furbitts at my house) on my arms as I type this. I may have to exact revenge on them when I am done typing. HOOHOOHAAHAAHaahaaaaaaa!!
    I have a technical job that pays me more than I deserve to be making.
    I became a Christian in ’87 and have not even been tempted to go back to the drugs even once.

    On top of all that, I have eternity in paradise waiting for me when the Lord calls me home.

    When I meet new people, they do not think to themselves, “Here is a man who is making the most of this life”. But if they only knew the history behind this man’s life…

    Yup…by far surpassed all my wildest expectaion.

  6. It’s great to hear testimonies of grace from you guys!

    I am generally where I expected to be when I graduated (details are hard to expect). There have been plenty of curves in the road I did NOT expect, but the destination was pretty settled. It’s the curves that make life interesting anyway.

  7. That was 38 years ago…LOL…I’m lucky if I can remember last week. I truly don’t know what I was thinking!

    But I’m happy were I am!

  8. “Occupation”-wise, I”m pretty much where I figured I would be (or hoped). In my home state of TX leading worship in a a great church.

    I figured I would be married, but I didn’t know how incredible it would be. I knew I would have kids, but didn’t expect the fantastic blessing they have been.

    The main thing I didn’t expects was all the downs. In my naive youth, I thought a minister’s life was all worship and roses. I didn’t expect the failures, disappointments, depression and whatnot. I also didn’t know about how God always takes all that junk and turns it into something simply amazing for His glory.

  9. I graduated in 1960 (yes, there really was a 1060).

    I certainly did not know I would be in Christian radio.

    I did think I would be in some form of ministry.

  10. I didn’t think i would still be around to day! but glad I am,

    I have met alot of very cool people! along my way!

  11. When I graduated High School I was planning on being a dairy farmer in partnership with my Dad.
    I began dating the girl that became my wife and a little over a year later we got married.
    A little more than a year following our marriage I faced up to something that I realized I had been denying for a while. God was calling me to preach His Word.
    I surrendered and after another bout with the dairy business I have given myself to serving the Lord in pastoring since 1984. I surrendered to preach in 1974, about a year and one half after graduating H.S.
    It did turn out differently than I had planned. Am I sorry? Not at all. God has blessed me in many ways.

  12. Thanks, everyone, for participating and sharing this weekend.

    I always enjoy hearing how God has directed the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

