One Thing


In the movie, City Slickers, Jack Palance plays a gritty trail boss on a cattle drive for dudes. Billy Crystal is a greenhorn from the city who is having a mid-life crisis. As they discuss the meaning of life, Palance tells Crystal that he has learned that the meaning of life is “one thing”. Crystal, of course wants to know what that “one thing” is, to which Palance replies, “That’s what you’ve got to figure out.”

What is your “one thing”? Is it family? Your job? Ambition? What drives you from day to day to do the things you do?

God wants us to love Him with all of our heart, soul, mind and strength. He does not want to be one among many loves, He wants us to love Him completely. All of our affection, devotion, and adoration is to be focused upon Him.

When we love Him with all of our heart, we will find that we are able to love others to a degree that we never before knew was possible. God’s love is dispensed through us by the Holy Spirit helping us to love others with the same kind of love with which God loves us. (Perhaps this is one of the keys to forgiveness).

God has made us so that we are incomplete without Him. Those who try to fill God’s place in their life with love for anything other than God will be frustrated and unfulfilled, never experiencing the joy of the Lord. Those who do make Him their “one thing” find a completeness and passion for life that nothing else can produce.

What is your “one thing”?

19 responses to “One Thing

  1. My one thing is the same as the late, great Rich Mullins. He said about Jesus…

    “You’re my One Thing! Your’re my One Thing! And the pure in heart shall see God!”

  2. I would say that one thing is an absolute neccesity for forgiveness…and peace…and life… 😉

    Great post!

  3. yes, he is the one thing!

    thank Gordon!

    I like the new look,

    take care

  4. Great post Gordon.

    My “one thing” is to love and serve God.

    You and I share things from very similar perspectives. I see my love for others as a reflection of my love for God.

    i.e. by loving my wife, I have a better understanding of God’s love for me (actually of Christ’s love for the Church).

    Keep up the great thoughts and may God bless you.

    Dennis

  5. I strive for my “one thing” to be Jesus. He is the Way, Truth and Life.

    That said I dont know if He actually is my one thing or if I have a few things of which Jesus is one. I have Faith that He is continually leading me on to a greater and closer relationship with Him.

    That is what the narrow path/gate analogy is all about. There should be no room in our lives for anything but Him, and his desires.

    Of course God wants us to have families, jobs, and other blessings etc. but all the rest are just that ‘blessings’ from Him. A life without Him is actually eternal death.

    This post is very similar to a famouse misquote of Ben Franklin, he actually once said a cultured person should be “A jack of all trades, but a Master of one.” My greatest desire is to have my ‘one trade’ His Word, and my ‘one thing’ Him.

    MDM

  6. I added your blurb…hope you like it.

  7. Yes, He is the One Thing….you said “Those who do make Him their “one thing” find a completeness and passion for life that nothing else can produce.” Funny I was just posting about that very thing this morning….He is my One and only Thing…even so I find that without continual refreshing of that connection with Him that passion for life grows dim…He is manna and living water that I must have every day….

  8. Gordon, I LOVE the new layout. The one thing for me is my Father’s love.

  9. My One Thing is to please my Lord and hear Him say, “Well done thy good and faithful servant.” That is the ultimate of living for Him.
    Daddy

  10. Just a variation on so many previous, but my “one thing” is my relationship with God. If it is right, everything else will fall in place. “Seek first the kingdom of God…and all these things will be added.”

    Even Paul said “This one thing I do!” Wonder if Curly read Philippians?

  11. Cameron, for some reason I doubt it.

  12. Good post. I pray God will always take precedence in my life.

  13. I suppose I’m just wierd or something.

    Everybody is saying God and Jesus and that’s all great and right but my one thing is My Bible!

    Without it I wouldn’t know Jesus.

    Without it I couldn’t hear from Him.

    My one thing is His Word!

  14. Michael, I am not sure that you have to make that distinction. I am not saying that the Bible is equal to God, but it is certainly through the Word that God reveals Himself. So in hungering for the Scripture, might that actually be a hunger for God?

    I know that when I eat dinner, while I appreciate the plate, my attention is on the food!

  15. God, in all his forms, and the church.

  16. #1: The Lord God, my master
    #2: My wife
    #3: My children

    My ego tries to push its way into one of these slots, but I keep pushing it back.

  17. I am guilty of making my husband my one thing and not focusing on God enough. I do talk to God daily and pray about this alot.

  18. I am convinced that I never make Jesus my One Thing enough. I don’t pray enough, worship enough, listen enough, love enough, believe enough, etc. etc.

    Help me Lord, to make you my One Thing in both word and deed.

Leave a Reply

