The Great Outdoors

I’ll just give you a quick update of my camping trip that I took with my boys. Hopefully, later this afternoon or evening I will post something else.

We were going to go to a nearby state park, but their campground was already full. We decided to go to my grandmother’s farm and just rough it in the woods. We pitched our tent near her pond and had a great time.

This past week had been quite challenging for me both emotionally and spiritually. I had a great opportunity to “recharge” while on this trip. As we sat there Friday night around the campfire, the wind was blowing through the tree tops, fireflies were everywhere, frogs and crickets were singing, (not a man-made sound anywhere) I watched my boys making s’mores and I realized just how good my life is.

We really need to count our blessings.

7 responses to “The Great Outdoors

  1. This post has been removed by the author.

  2. sorry about that, my mind was going faster then my fingers.

    we should count our blessings

    it sounds like you had a good time with your boys!

  3. I’m thankful you’re refreshed and those are some fortunate young men. I think those “rougher” trips really are the character builders. Amen to counting our blessings. 😉

  4. If I knew who to give credit to for the following quote (that I will embellish), I would….

    “If a dad will take his kids fishing and hunting, he won’t have to hunt for them when they get older”

    It’s wise in its way, no?

  5. Maybe your PM post could be about “envy”. :>)

    Glad you had a good time.

  6. Sometimes the best camping is the unplanned camping.

    Sounds like you had a great time.

    That’s a good thing.

  7. “sons are a heritage from the Lord, Children are a reward from Him.”
    Psalm 127:3
    I never understood this verse until i became a father. I can tell you know it to be true as well Gordon.

Leave a Reply

