Allegiance

The events of the last few days have brought to mind the great song by Ray Boltz.

I have heard how Christians long ago,
Were brought before a tyrant’s throne.
They were told that he would spare their lives,
If they would renounce the name of Christ.
And one by one they chose to die.
The Son of God, they would not deny.
Like a great angelic choir sings,
I can almost hear their voices ring.

I pledge allegiance to the Lamb,
With all my strength, with all I am.
I will seek to honor His command.
I pledge allegiance to the Lamb.

Now the years have come and the years have gone,
But the cause of Jesus still goes on.
Now has come the time to count the cost,
To reject this world and embrace the cross.
And one by one, let us live our lives
For the one who died, to give us life.
‘Til the trumpet sounds on that final day,
May we proudly stand and boldly say.

I pledge allegiance to the Lamb,
With all my strength, with all I am.
I will seek to honor His command.
I pledge allegiance to the Lamb.

That song has been in my head all day. I pray that in the days to come, it will remain in my heart.

15 responses to “Allegiance

  1. Gordon,

    I can see why it’s running through your head.

    Powerful.

    Dennis

  2. Gordon,

    I love that song, it’s been too long since I heard it. Thanks for the timely reminder!

  3. i love the song! it’s one of those i love to do sign language to!

  4. I sang that song at church one Sunday, after 9/11! Very powerful! I hadn’t thought about it for a while…it may be time to sing it again! Thanks

  5. In light of the song and you recent posts about being persecuted we should take encouragement in Jesus. He is there with us in our persecutions. The story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego teaches us much about relying on Him and His power to protect us.
    The Crux of their attitudes is this “If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up”
    They were faithful to God even to the point of death an knew He had the power to rescue them. BUT also knew that even if He did not that their faith still needed to be in Him. As the story turns out it brings more Glory to God to save them from the fire but many are the times since than and today that He choses not to save the earthly body of His servants. He often choses rather, to welcome His humble servants home to feasting just as the Father of the Prodigal son did.

  6. I’m glad that song is a blessing to all of you.

    MDM–thanks for that reminder.

  7. Gordon,
    Thanks for the reminder of the song. It is a great one.

  8. i love this song, I have the video on DVD and you just reminded me. I think I will take it to the Boy’s Facility this weekend.

  9. Gordon,
    WoW I haven’t heard that one,
    thanks for posting it!

    you have a great day!

  10. The video is powerful but if you can’t find it, the song is on Ray’s “Concert of a Lifetime” CD. Boltz is today’s Don Francisco. Few can tell a story with music like he.

  11. Thanks for this post and those of the last few days. I think you have helped me in my thinking. When I first started reading blogs, I read many of young people who said that when they heard “God Bless America” or another patriotic song sung in church, they wanted to run out in the street away from the church. I didn’t understand what all the fuss was about. You have helped to clear things up a lot for me.

    Thanks. I read you regularly and have tried posting, but for some reason, the last two times I’ve tried, they’ve never shown up.

  12. I absolutely love that song. I’m gonna have to pop that CD in, now that you reminded me of it! Thanks.

  13. Thanks all for your thoughts.

    Beverly–I am sorry for the problems with your comments. Someone else told me they were experiencing the same difficulties. I guess it must be a problem with Blogger.

  14. Powerful song, the words gives me goose bumps.

  15. I fell in love with the song the first time I heard it played by a colleague back home in Ghana, W/A. Though I did not know the words, I always sang the parts i knew. It gives me God’s fulfilment for His Word, daily as I move out. I owe Him my heart, my strength and my all. God bless you for producing such an owesome piece.

Leave a Reply

