The Most Satanic Sin

What is the sin that most defines the character of Satan? What is at the heart of his hatred toward God? What is at the heart of all temptations that he presents to mankind? What is the core of every sin?

Pride.

Let me give an obligatory disclaimer. I am writing this as a learner, not a master of humility. Often when one preaches or teaches on the sin of pride, people accuse the preacher/teacher of lacking humility themselves. I will be the first to admit that at times I struggle with pride. Actually it would be more accurate to say, “all the time”. We all do as it is the very heart of the sin nature.

It was pride that caused Lucifer to become jealous of the Son of God. It was pride that caused him to lead a rebellion against the very throne of God. It was pride that caused him to attack that which was created in the image of God. It was pride that led him to believe he could kill Jesus.

He is the father of all the children of pride.

I believe that every sin is symptomatic of pride. It is pride that causes someone to devalue another person’s life to the point of murder. It is pride that leads someone to ignore the feelings of others in the pursuit of self-gratification. It is pride that would have us believe that we don’t have to submit ourselves to the sovereignty of God. It is pride that drives us to deceive others.

We are never acting more satanically than when we act in pride.

How then do we conquer pride? For a long time I believed that I could overcome pride by acting with a false sense of humility. I would act embarassed when someone would pay me a compliment. I would yield up my personal rights in regard to others for the sake of “humbling myself”. I developed what I thought was a sense of humility–and I became proud of it. I fooled myself into thinking I was humble, I may have been able to persuade others around me (maybe), but I couldn’t fool God.

I have come to realize that since pride is at the heart of the sin nature, I cannot produce humility by myself. I realize that it must be something that God produces through me. “Perhaps it is the work of the Spirit?” I thought. Do you realize that “humility” is not even listed as one of the spiritual fruits of Galatians 5:22,23?

I have been learning that the opposite of pride is not humility, it is love. Satan’s nature is the antithesis of everything that God is. If pride is Satan’s most defining characteristic, then it will be the diametric opposite of God’s most defining attribute.

God is love.

Consider these words of Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount:

Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbor and hate thine enemy. But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you. That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and the unjust. For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans do the same? And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so? Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.

Matthew 5:43-48

Do you see how Jesus describes the most complete demonstration of Godliness in our lives? Love. I can demonstrate acts of humility towards others without loving them. But I cannot love others to the degree that God loves them with loving them as much as I love myself. Love produces humility, and love is produced by the Spirit.

We are never acting more satanically than when we act in pride.

We are never acting more Godly than when we act in love.

May God help me to love others as He has loved me.

14 responses to “The Most Satanic Sin

  1. Amen to that!

    Pride is something I have to work on. 😦

    thanks for the post!

    have a great day!
    janice

  2. Were in sync with our post Gordon. My next post will be on Lucifer. I love that you stay centered on the topic of pride. This will be a help to me since I can dig into where I want to go and if you don’t mind….I’ll link to you for people to read about pride.

    I know many people think Pauls thorn in the flesh was his eyesight but I have often wondered if Paul wasn’t battling with pride. Seems to me there is a lot of evidence for this battle. I’m not downplaying the vision thing but I think throughout Paul’s letters one can see the battle with pride raging within him were it seems to me he simply worked around the vision thing. Maybe one day I’ll lay this all out in a post. Could be interesting to see the response.

  3. wow, what a beautiful reminder that love is at the root of all good things! i’ve seen many people try to live a happy, successful life based on their pride – but i’ve seen so many examples of happy, content people who base their lives on love and servanthood!

    next time i struggle with pride, i need to remind myself it’s a battle between love vs. pride.

  4. Gordon,

    That was beautiful. Praise Him every day!

    Dennis

  5. Good word, Gordon. God is Love and we are the children of Love.. it is in our spiritual natures, our DNA if you will, to love. May we continually walk in Love, living from our spiritual man rather than our natural man.

  6. Pride is indeed a most Satanic sin. And one that we fall into so easily.

    God Bless

  7. That is a great post. I had never thought of love as being the opposite of pride, but you may just have something there.

    Good words,

    Doug

  8. Glad all of you received a blessing.

    Doug, I wish that I had originally thought of this myself, but a couple of years ago, an older pastor made that statement to me that love was the opposite of pride.

    I’ll have to confess, I didn’t buy it right away, but the more I studied it and thought about it, the more I became convinced that he was right.

  9. “This is my commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you”

    The next verse is where Jesus says that there is no greater love then one who lays down his life for his friends. I can see where you are coming from for this act is perhaps the oppisite of Pride.

    Now before this Jesus was washing his disciples feet. Imagine that the creator of the Universe, more, the one who created their feet was now on his knees washing them.

    You are right Gordon humility is only something we do by the Holy Spirit otherwise it is simply Vain-Humility and of ourselves.

    For instead of making ourselves to be humble we simply boast in the Jesus.

    You put a lot of thought into this post.

  10. That was powerful…I struggle with it to and just when I think I’ve defeated that particular demon, it raises it’s ugly head…but with God’s help!

    I’ve often wondered if pride was Peter’s problem when he said he would never deny the Lord…Satan took care of that statement in short order.

    Ever vigilant…to the deception of pride!

  11. As I began reading this post, I was thinking to myself, “Humility is the opposite of pride.”

    I was proud of myself for that great bit of insight…

    Good words. Thanks for the blessing.

  12. Pingback: Heavenly Heartburn

  13. Pingback: Humility and the Will of God « Heavenly Heartburn

  14. Pride is a noose that will choke the life out of you.

Leave a Reply

