I Can Do All Things

As we head into the weekend, I would like to share some thoughts with you about my favorite verse in the Bible.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
Philippians 4:13

I have learned that God wants His children to be overcomers. I realize that this is hardly the revelation of the century, but all too often we live a life lacking in victory because we fail to rely on the strength of our Savior.

We can infer from this verse that there will be things which we must do that are beyond our abilities, knowledge and resources. In fact, I am convinced that God consistently calls us to do things that fit that description. The reason, of course, is that God wants to be glorified through us. If our accomplishments are in our own strength, even though they may be good works, the glory seems to come our way rather than God’s.

Another thing I have learned is that the things God calls me to do are actually the things that He wants to accomplish through me and in me. Part of this would relate to the process of sanctification as God works through me to perform His will and to conform me to the image of Christ.

How then do we tap into this enormous power source? The fact is, it is already dwelling in us. The awesome power of Christ’s Spirit indwells all believers, equipping us to do whatever God may call us to do. The best way that we can utilize this power is to simply remove self from the picture. God does not force Himself upon us, if we insist upon functioning in our own strength, He will let us. We must be willing to die to self so that the power of God may be evident through us.

Through the power of Christ I can face the trials of life, cope with pain, overcome temptations, face conflict, forgive, restore, grow, learn, build, preach, teach, counsel, mentor, guide and parent (these are the areas of my life where I have had to lean on His power). Your needs may be similar to mine or totally different. My needs may and probably will change over time. One thing is certain, through Christ, we can do ALL things.

10 responses to “I Can Do All Things

  1. How then do we tap into this enormous power source? The fact is, it is already dwelling in us. The awesome power of Christ’s Spirit indwells all believers, equipping us to do whatever God may call us to do.

    I loved this bit Gordon very powerful. AMEN & AMEN

  2. Good post!

    10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. 11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. 12 I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

    In its context, the passage is talking about endurance through trials.

    For instance, it does not mean that I can lift the Titanic from the bottom of the ocean with my own hands (unless it is “through Christ…that is, “in His will.”)

    It does mean that, like Paul, no matter what the world throws at me I can accomplish what God wants me to accomplish. That is the meaning of “through Christ.” The emphasis is on “through Christ,” that is, “in His will.”

  3. That is so true!! What a great reminder!

  4. “In its context, the passage is talking about endurance through trials.”

    Indeed, it is similar to “No temptation has overtaken you, except such as is common to man and God is faithful who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also provide the way of escape.”

    As Joe also said, it does not mean that we can do everything with Jesus. This passage does not teach that a 4-foot tall, 9year old girl can dunk a basketball, that I can become president next year, or anything similar. It is simply a repetition of what Paul has already said – whether he has much or little, he can and will perservere for it is Jesus who srengthens him.

    In Christ alone,
    mike

  5. Hallelujah! Thank God for an Indwelling Lord! His strength and power enables for all He requires. In my weakness He is made strong and without Him I can do absolutely nothing. Truly and amazing Lord. Thanx for the encouragement and have a wonderful weekend in Chirst.

  6. Imagine what the Church could do if we appropriated all the wonderful blessings, fruits and gifts of the Spirit we have received in Jesus.

  7. Good job, Gordon! Never truer words were spoke. We should look at our selves like radios.:-) Yes, I said radios. See all around us, every day we are covered with sound waves, audio waves and vidoe waves. Until we get a radio, and turn it on, thos waves surrounding us are useless.

    Samething with the Holy Spirit and the power of the Lord within us. Until we die to self, we can’t utilize the waves within us.

    It really bugs me when people face a crisis and they get to the point where they say, “Well all we can do now, is pray.”

    How sad when someone waits to rely on the greatest power in the universe…until last!

    I see my friend Joe comes here!

    Thanks Gordon, and yes I’d be glad to trade links.

  8. Hey there…I jumped over from Bonnie’s blog. That verse has always been one of my favorites. It got me through basic training long ago.

    Nice post and blog!

  9. Thanks all for the visits and the comments. Hope you have a blessed weekend.

  10. it is great to know we can lean on Him for our strength and that we CAN do ALL things with His help!

    thanks for stopping by my blog! hope that story went good in your childrens message!

    thx for the wonderful reminder!
    -Tarah

Leave a Reply

