Brotherly Love

This was given to me by one of my church members. I do not know the particulars of this event, but the story itself is powerful.

Many years ago, when I worked as a volunteer at a hospital, I got to know a little girl named Liz who was suffering from a rare & serious disease. Her only chance of recovery appeared to be a blood transfusion from her 5-year old brother, who had miraculously survived the same disease and had developed the antibodies needed to combat the illness. The doctor explained the situation to her little brother, and asked the little boy if he would be willing to give his blood to his sister. I saw him hesitate for only a moment before taking a deep breath and saying, “Yes I’ll do it if it will save her.” As the transfusion progressed, he lay in bed next to his sister and smiled, as we all did, seeing the color returning to her cheek. Then his face grew pale and his smile faded. He looked up at the doctor and asked with a trembling voice, “Will I start to die right away?” Being young, the little boy had misunderstood the doctor; he thought he was going to have to give his sister all of his blood in order to save her.

The point is, he was willing to do whatever was necessary to save the one he loved.

Jesus said, “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friend.”

And then He called us friends.

In all of history, kings have asked their subjects to die for them. Jesus is the only King in history to die so that His people could live.

Let us live for Him!

9 responses to “Brotherly Love

  1. This is a great story it has been going around for some time now I am not sure if it is true but is a great story.

    I love your final point that Jesus was the only King in history to die so his people could live.

  2. This story just touched me so much it brought tears to my eyes. This little boy thought he was sacrificing his life for his sister and he was only 5 years old. Amazing the Love of that child. How much love Christ has for us to do what he has done.

  3. Wow, life’s amazing isn’t it? I’m sure God looks down upon me and shakes his head some days but I’ve never felt that he’s given up on me!

    Thanks for stopping by, ya’ll come back any time.

  4. Great thoughts on love. It shows the great love of our Savior. The King who died for me. Thank YOU Jesus.

  5. awwe! precious story. it’s true that children are much better at sacrificing, until we grow them up and show them differently. (speaking for myself here!) perhaps one other purpose in Jesus telling us that we need to become more like little children.

    thanks for the wisdom!

    blessings!

  6. Thank you for coming by. Come back any time.

    Good story!

    I went to high school in Warner Robins, Ga. Although I am from Miami, my parents are both from Georgia and my Air Force dad was stationed at Robins AFB.

    I had occasion to go to Cairo one year for a Ga. State Music Festival.

    Read back over some of you posts. You write some good stuff.

  7. I’ve heard that story before, but had forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder…

  8. Thanks all for coming by. Glad this story blessed you.

    Joe,it’s always good to meet another “Jawja” boy!

  9. As others have said, that story is so moving, whether it is true or not. It does so represent God’s love for us. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

