Jesus Loves Me

I have never gotten over that beautiful song from my childhood,

Yes, Jesus loves me.
Yes, Jesus loves me.
Yes, Jesus loves me.
The Bible tells me so.
I never get tired of being told I am loved. And to think that Jesus loves me! The thought is overwhelming at times. The Bible is full of God’s declarations of love to His people. May I share one with you? The Song of Solomon is such a beautiful book. The poetic description of the courtship between Solomon and the little vineyard girl is a wonderful love story in itself. When we take this as a picture of Christ’s love for the church it becomes very personal.
Thou art beautiful, O my love, as Tirzah, comely as Jerusalem, terrible as an army with banners. Song of Solomon 6:4
Picture the noble King Solomon, accustomed to wealth, splendor and all the trappings of his power speaking to this young woman who is a servant. Her appearance has been affected by her work and her environment, yet Solomon, (who by all accounts was a connoisseur of beauty) called her beautiful. This is not a case of “blind love”, it is a case of love transforming the appearance of the one who is loved.
It doesn’t end there. He starts comparing her to Tirzah, his name for his palace. He compares her to his hometown. He describes her as having the same effect upon him that he would get from his position of leadership. “Beautiful one, you mean as much to me as my home, my glory and my power.”
Do you see where this is going? Christ was willing to step away from His home, His glory, His Father and all the adoration of heaven itself to come to us and show us just how much He loved us. He was willing to pay any price to be with us.
He doesn’t stop there, though. His grace looks beyond the effects that our life and environment have left on us and sees what we can become in the light of His glory. He transforms us into something so beautiful that it is acceptable before the very throne of the Most High. We have His promise that in the fullness of time we will be united with Him in a heavenly marriage and will be with Him for eternity.
Oh yes! Jesus loves me!
8 responses to “Jesus Loves Me

  1. Gordon,
    This song came to mind as I was reading your article.
    “Wonderful love of Jesus, greater than all my sin. How can my tongue describe it where shall my praise begin…”

  2. He does love His Girl. She is more beautiful than any other in His eyes and I am so honored to be a part of Her. He loves His Bride as men in Eph.5 are encouraged to love theirs…
    “So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself.
    For no man ever yet hated his own flesh; but nourisheth and cherisheth it, even as the Lord the church.”
    …She is His, He loves Her like His own self.
    I sing this song to my 2yrs old granddaughter…”yes, Jesus loves you, your Gigi tells you so” 🙂

    thank you, Lord!

  3. thanks for the simple reminder…too often i can forget this thought.

    btw…i had an extra minute this morning and added you to my links on my blog. i always enjoy visiting your place and and wanted to share your thoughts with others as well. please feel free to let me know if for some reason that’s not alright.

    have a wonderful day as we head into the weekend.

    blessings!

  4. Thanks all for your visits and comments.

    Radical One–I don’t mind at all, I am both honored and grateful.

  5. Gigi–you wouldn’t spoil that grandbaby now, would you?:)

  6. Amen and Amen!

    Doug

    FYI – I’ve added your blog to my blogroll. I’ve enjoyed your thoughts and insight. Even if I am often too busy to comment.

    Doug

  7. Thanks, Doug. It’s always good to “see” you. The feeling is mutual. God bless!

Leave a Reply

